brioche challenge

I have this pretty awesome new baking crew.

Cory, Tom & Aimée (they are one team) and Meredith.

The five of us love to bake. We also love to try new recipes … so we decided to put together this baking crew and challenge one another. Every week a recipe is picked, we bake it, then we get together to compare our results; aka the taste test.

Week one was bagels. I didn’t post anything … because quite frankly, my attempt at bagels did not go well at all (think über vile play-dough). Tom and Cory came out real champs (Meredith hadn’t joined the crew yet): Tom won best flavour (rosemary bagels), and Cory won best looking … think Montréal bagels. They looked good (and honestly, tasted pretty stellar as well).

Week two … brioche.

I loved this challenge.20121116-130619.jpg

I was genuinely excited about making brioche.  I’d made the dough once … but using Marysol’s recipe and with her there to guide me … ensuring that I hadn’t messed up her dough.  But to do it on my own … exciting!

There is one thing thought … I didn’t realize was how much resting time this dough requires.

Mother of pearl! According to the recipe I used: I needed to knead the flour, eggs and yeast for 7 minutes. Rest for 20 minutes. Add the cold butter, handfuls at a time, kneading for a further 10 minutes. Then rest the dough at room temperature for 3 hours. Place in the fridge and chill overnight (or until doubled in size).

You’d think … ok … once doubled in size, the dough is ready to use.

Not quite.

Pull out of the fridge, shape the dough into eight 3 ounce balls and fill your generously buttered loaf pan.

Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rest for further 3 to 5 hours.

Only then are you ready to bake.

20121116-130627.jpg

Brush with eggwash and bake at 325 F for 50 minutes. Let’s just say … your kitchen will smell absolutely delightful! The smell of butter and flour baking slowly … totally worth all that resting time. Totally.

But let’s get back to the challenge.

Last Monday afternoon the four of us got together to compare our brioche loaves. I have to admit … when I tasted my loaf … it was salty! And not as airy and light as I had hoped (I totally over kneaded it). Cory’s was a lovely airy, light, and oh so buttery loaf. He won … by a pretty tight margin. Tom & Aimée’s brioche was super tasty and light … but we figured … the one that tasted more of butter should win. 

20121116-135856.jpg

20121116-130639.jpg

We had decided to do a second baked good with the brioche dough. I made some chocolate cinnamon rolls (the dough seemed to work better for this … I was much happier with the result). Meredith made the prettiest one, una coca de Sant Joan, a traditional Catalonian recipe. There was a layer of custard which was absolutely delightful … and the candied cherries on top just made it ridiculously pretty (I’m sad I didn’t get a great picture). Cory made some honey almond rolls … they were good … especially because … the dough was so light and airy. But the clear winner this time was Tom & Aimée’s salted caramel and pecan brioche têtes. Home made salted caramel filled these light and fluffy little brioche. Mother of pearl. It was hard to stop eating it. So utterly delicious.

20121116-130647.jpg

3 thoughts on “brioche challenge

  1. Pingback: pie challenge & the tart | the twisted chef

  2. Pingback: suguared doughnuts | the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

