lemon cadbury cream egg cupcakes

cupcake & standI wish I could take credit for thinking up this combination.

But I can’t.

I don’t think I would ever think to stuff a cadbury cream egg into a cupcake. And then top the cupcake with frosting.

Nope. I’d never think that up myself.

Thank goodness for Pinterest and all the lovely things I find on there.

That’s where I found this.the inspiration

Are you as excited as I am????

I basically clicked my way to this blog and decided … yep. I’m gonna make these. Only I’m gonna change things up a little.

I don’t know about you … but although I do love me a cadbury cream egg … I do find them pretty rich and decadent … so maybe rather than stuff one into a chocolate cupcake … perhaps a lemon cupcake would be better?

The tartness of the lemon vs. the insane richness of the chocolate egg.

Winner.

Then top it all with cream cheese frosting?!

Absolute winner.

When testing this recipe out over the weekend, I opted to make both large and mini cupcakes. Let me just say … I’ve decided that I prefer the mini cupcakes.

Here’s why:

1. Adding a regular sized cadbury cream egg to a large cupcake results in a HEAVY cupcake. Like really heavy.

2. No questions asked – this is one rich dessert. You need to commit if you’re going to eat a large one.

3. It can get expensive to use the large eggs! Mini eggs come in a large bag. More value for your buck (trust me on this one).

4. Honestly … this cupcake is proof that two-bites are just enough. Actually not just enough … two-bites are utter perfection. A little lemon, a little chocolate, a touch of cream … it’s a bite of happiness.

This is the kind of thing you should TOTALLY make for your Easter festivities!mini lemon cadbury cream egg cupcakes frosted

Think of it … not only do they make a perfectly delightful addition to the end of your meal … BUT you could also be really sneaky and use them in an Easter-egg hunt! Can’t you picture a bunch of kids trying to find their chocolate eggs … and spotting little cupcakes instead????

Have I convinced you to give this a try?

If the lemon and chocolate cream egg combo haven’t already sold you on this recipe … I’ll give you another couple of good reasons to make these:

1. They will impress the heck out of everyone. Seriously … annoying relative? Impressed! Little kids? Impressed. They’ll take a bit, then look in the centre and just rave about how “awesome” and “cool” it is. (I tested these out at my book club … so I’m speaking from experience).

2. My lemon cupcake recipe can get you 2 dozen mini cupcakes (or 1 dozen large cupcakes + 6 mini cupcakes). A bag of mini cadbury cream eggs makes 3 1/2 dozen mini cupcakes. Bang for your buck AND time.

3. These are DEAD EASY to make. I swear! Super simple.

Whip up a batch of your favourite lemon cupcake batter, unwrap 2 dozen mini-cadbury eggs, top with more batter … then bake at 350 F for 15 minutes.

I told you. Dead. Easy.

This is my favourite lemon cupcake recipe – my basic “go-to” whenever I need to whip up a batch of lemon goodness.

lemon cupcakes

ingredients:

140 g (½ c. + 2 tbsp) sugar

40 g (2 ½ tbsp) butter, room temperature

120 g (¾ c. + 1 tbsp) flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

1 egg

zest of 1 lemon

juice of ½ lemon

120 ml buttermilk

24 x mini cadbury cream eggs

batch of cream cheese frosting

Heat your oven to 350 F. Line 2 trays of mini cupcakes with liners (for a total of 24). Set aside.

Combine the lemon juice, egg and buttermilk into a measuring cup. Set aside.

In the bowl of your stand-mixer, beat together the sugar, lemon zest, and butter. This batter is going to feel completely wrong. You’re going to feel like there isn’t enough butter to sugar ratio. Don’t worry. It’ll be fine.

Add the flour, baking powder and salt to the sugar/butter mixture. Again … this is going against almost all cake / cupcake recipes I tend to share with you … trust me. Continue to beat the mixture at low speed for a minute. You’ll notice that the batter looks a little like sand.

That’s when you want to add the buttermilk / egg / lemon juice mixture.

Beat on low speed, and then, increase the speed to medium. The batter will come together and get airy and creamy. It shouldn’t take you more than a minute or so.

Done.stuffing the cupcakes - pre baking

Now for the fun part!

Spoon 1 teaspoon worth of batter into each cupcake liner.

Top with mini cadbury cream eggs.

Spoon another teaspoon of batter on-top of each cream egg. You might have to smooth the batter a little to ensure that the egg is covered.

Bake for 15 minutes.

Remove from the oven; gently lift each baked cupcake out of the pan: the cream egg centre will feel really soft – so be careful. Cool on a wire rack.frosting the cupcakes

While the cupcakes cool, make a batch of your favourite cream cheese frosting. Frosting is something I have a hard time giving an exact recipe for … my goal is always to make it smooth and creamy; not too buttery, not tasting too much of powdered sugar … with just the perfect hint of vanilla. I really play the chemist when making my frosting; trial and error. If I want it thinner, I’ll add a tablespoon or two of heavy cream. The advice I will give when making cream cheese frosting is always to start with creaming the butter and powdered sugar together. Once combined, add your cold cream cheese to the mix. Increase the speed to break the cream cheese up and incorporate into the frosting. Salt and vanilla is always a good thing … taste test while you work and you’ll totally end up with some great frosting. Or be wild … swap in lemon juice instead of the vanilla. Double wham of lemon for your mouth!

Top each cupcake with the cream cheese frosting … et voilà! Done.

Oh! And another bonus to these cupcakes: it’s actually better to make them in advance so that they can cool completely. The cream egg melts and then reshapes; hence why my picture doesn’t look quite as cool as the pinterest inspiration … I just couldn’t wait to cut in and see the finished product!

5 thoughts on “lemon cadbury cream egg cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Interweb Goings On – Week Ending April 6 |

Leave a Reply

