chocolate, vanilla and marble…

Check out the cake!!!

 

Pretty awesome eh? I think so.

Last week Emily and I each got our hands dirty… well, mine were full of butter and flour, and hers were covered in buttercream and fondant.  But I think you know what I mean :0)

Let’s get back to that cake though.  We had been asked to bake a wedding cake for one of Emily’s co-workers.  She requested a 3-tiered, square cake with assorted flavours: vanilla, marble and chocolate.

I haven’t actually made a vanilla cake in quite some time… so I pulled out a recipe I had used last summer: I remembered that it’s denser than most cakes I make, holds together really well and is chalk-full of vanilla flavour (beans and extract).  I whipped up 2 x 6-inch square cakes and moistened them with some simple syrup.  DONE.

I have to admit – – I super, duper heart my marble cake recipe.  It comes out moist every single time I bake it (and I’ve been baking it non-stop since that engagement cake last March).  It holds well too; an important trait when you’re piling buttercream, fondant and another tier (or two) on top.  I decided to opt for the marble to be the middle tier – – 2 x 10-inch squares… simple.  Again, I took the cakes out of the oven and moistened with simple syrup… not really necessary with this recipe, but better to moisten than not, me thinks.  DONE.

Now for the chocolate cake recipe.  Remember how I blogged about the moistess chocolate cake recipe ever?  Well… although I love that cake, I have my doubts about it holding up to the strain of being the base for the other tiers: so I’ve pretty much decided that it will not be used in the building of a wedding cake.  That’s ok… it allows me to experiment with other recipes… which I heart doing!

The plan was to find a densely chocolate, rich, moist cake that is strong enough to hold 4 layers of cake, buttercream and fondant… and tastes good.  I think I might have found it.  I pulled out The Confetti Cakes Cookbookand read the recipe for their chocolate cake… moist and delicious looking.  I was pretty much sold.  And they inform the reader that this is their most requested cake.  SOLD!  I grabbed the recipe and got all the ingredients together… I was ready to bake!

This recipe is amazing because it is full of unsweetened cocoa powder… in order to make 1 x 13 – inch square I used 2 cups of dark dutch cocoa… that’s pretty intense.  I also used full-fat sour cream (none of this low-fat stuff) – – which I think helped with the moistness of the cake.

Now for a confession…. I made my first 13-inch square and it turned out perfectly! I leveled it – cutting the uneven top off and storing those pieces in an airtight container (yep, my co-workers are given the pieces… FYI this cake lasted over a week and was still moist), I didn’t even need to moisten it (it’s ridiculously moist and bounced under my touch), but I wrapped it up and put it away. 

Time to make the second one.

This is where my over eagerness got me in trouble.  I made the batter, poured it into the cake pan, baked it, removed it from the oven, and allowed it to cool… just not long enough :0(  I went to turn it out of the pan and… it fell apart!!!!  My poor cake, in pieces, ruined (for the wedding purpose, still edible for the employee appreciation party)!!!!  Needless to say… I was disappointed and frustrated – – and took the night off before re-baking it.

In the end everything turned out on my end; time to hand it over to Emily… see the transformation

before

 after

Emily did an amazing job with the icing, the fondant, and the assembling of the entire thing (and the pictures!).  Claps for you Em!  It’s AWESOME!!! 

I so heart this cake! 

 

9 thoughts on “chocolate, vanilla and marble…

  1. That cake looks absolutely amazing. I’m sure the bride and groom were thrilled. Can’t wait to show this one to Julie. Bake on, girls!

    • Hi Michele – we always make 2 layers of each cake… that’s how you get the height in the cake…. plus it wouldn’t feed all the guests otherwise.

  2. Pingback: vanilla. nothing plain about it « the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

