wednesday sundaes

Last night was book club.  Yep.  I’m in a book club.  The premise is that a bunch of us ladies enjoy reading… and eating.  So why not read a book, get together, chat and enjoy some food and wine?  Sounds good to me… and to 5 of my friends.

the book… sigh.

We’d picked our book – The Postmistress (don’t go there… the consensus amongst us ladies was not good at all.  Read Suite Française or The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society if you want to see how a war-time novel is done right) and then picked our theme:

SUNDAES!

Kailey was kind enough to host – she has AC (yes, we heart this because it is so ridiculously, unpleasantly hot outside); Tonya and Tanya both brought along some bottles of vino (sparkling and rosé seemed to be the theme) and I brought along some of Pascale’s All Natural Ice Cream (French Vanilla and Passionfruit) and some toppings.  It was time to bring my Friday night sundaes on the road… and boy was it good!

Pascale’s all natural ice cream and some sparkling… perfect combo!

I wanted to make sure that I had some options for the ladies…

I started off making Jenna’s peanut butter and chocolate ganache (yeah, it rocked).  The ganache tempered really well… I poured it into squeeze bottles so that we could squirt it all over our bowls of ice cream… and then… it hardened and became so fudgy.  It was sigh worthy and amazing.  For reals. 

Tonya making her sundae… and lovin’ the ganache ;0)

Then I whipped up a batch of raw cookie dough – based on Jenna’s recipe again; however, I tossed in some raisins.  Chewy and doughy… I kept it in the freezer until it was time to serve… and then thanks to mother nature and our heat wave, the cookie dough tempered really quickly ;0)  Easy to pull apart and drop on top of the scooped ice cream (or just to nibble at on its own).

raw cookie dough – chocolate chip and raisin (Sara’s favourite)

I wanted something with a bit of texture as well… so I pulled out some butter, some pretzels and brown sugar; blitzed it all together in the food processor and baked it for about 25 minutes.  Pretzel shortbread.  Solid topping.  Salty and crumbly – –  inspired to replace salted peanuts on your sundae.  A perfect match for the ganache and the cookie dough. 

I had some remaining passionfruit curd (based on Jenna’s recipe) and brought that along.  The tartness of the curd (and it’s so creamy and delicious) was used to cut the sweetness of everything else.   Certainly a sundae topping winner.

passionfruit curd…delish

Finally… I needed something else… remember how I mentioned that I wanted to try making the toffee vanilla shortbread but with dark chocolate and cherries?  Well I did.  Even better than the original.  No lies… this cherry-chocolate shortbread was not too sweet but oh so buttery.  Sigh.  Butter, chocolate and dried fruit.  Pretty a-maz-ing.

 cherry-chocolate shortbread

So… are you going to host a sundae party?  Super fun to custom make your own toppings and get together with some friends.  I’m even going to share the cookie dough recipe with you… after all it’s perfect – tastes great and no baking in the heat!  Nice of me to think of your comfort in the kitchen eh?  Yeah… I’m nice like that :0)

chocolate-chip raisin cookie dough

ingredients:

3/4 c. salted butter, room temperature

1 3/4 c. brown sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

3 c. all-purpose flour, sifted

pinch of salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1 c. chocolate-chips

1 c. raisins

No need to pre-heat your oven or grab a cookie sheet.  All you need to do is cream together your butter and sugar (either in your stand mixer with the paddle attachment or with a hand-held mixer).  Once fluffy (scrape down the sides of the bowl) add in the eggs, one at time, beating well after each addition.  Finally, add the remaining ingredients and stir to combine.  That’s it.  simple eh?  Gather the dough and put it a large freezer bag (or wrap in plastic wrap) and place in the freezer until you want to use it.  Allow to temper in the fridge and then pull it out to use on your sundae.

This recipe makes a load of dough – so either freeze in smaller bags or you could even bake some up… if you feel like turning on the oven.

Throw that party!  It’ll be fun… I promise… I mean… check it out!

Tonya’s final product… yum

5 thoughts on “wednesday sundaes

  1. A-mazing MYO sundaes!!! The ganache was truly my ultimate favourite addition and, as you know, I had to add more once I realized that it became fudgier from the cold of the ice cream. PERFECTION!!!

  2. The ice cream and the ganache sounds good to me but the raw cookie dough!! I am afraid you lost me in the old fashion crowd that believes no raw eggs, no cookie dough…but I might try to bake them “dough”!

  3. OMG you’re killing me!!! I have been waiting for the past 3 hours to go to Cora’s for breakfast-brunchy-lunch (depending on when the pool guy got to my mom’s) and it’s definitely turned into lunch and I haven’t eaten anything… AND NOW I’M LITERALLY SALIVATING AT THE MOUTH!!

    (seriously, looks soooooo good!)

  4. Pingback: deep-fried bacon « the twisted chef

  5. Pingback: obesessed with these brownies « the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

