and then i was on tv…

For reals!  Seriously.  I was just on TV.  Well not just just on TV… I was on last Friday… as in 3 days ago.  Local cable – Roger’s television… yep.  Ottawa Daytime did a little segment on me.  Super cool eh?!  I thought so (heck… I still do!)!

You might be wondering how all of this came about. 

Well… it all started with my blog entry introducing you all to Platonic Jeff.  He posted it on FB; his friend Erin fell upon it… and she’s the producer for Ottawa Daytime.  She enjoyed the entry and got a chuckle reading some of my other entries… and well… she asked me if I wanted to be on TV and do a little baking segment.

Erin making sure my mic is hidden away

And that my friends, is how I ended up on television.  Again – – too cool for words!

I will admit I felt a little pressure trying to figure out what I would bake – I mean, it had to be something that would be semi interactive, but not too complicated and that people would actually want to try and not feel intimidated by.  At first I was going to make a rhubarb and strawberry crisp.  I did a little test in my “test kitchen” (my personal kitchen) and it was awesome.  However… I decided to experiment with something that had a little more oomph… and that is how I came up with this:

brown butter macademia nut brownies.

No lies.  AMAZING brownies.  I brought the test batch to a volleyball / bbq one Sunday afternoon and they were a success: kids loved them and so did their parents.  So rich, and fudgy and chocolatey.  Simply decadent.  BUT super easy to make.  This recipe fulfilled my every requirement.

Recipe tested and successful – I was ready to hit up Richmond Road and the studio. 

I arrived Friday morning and was directed to the Green Room (the Tim Horton’s Green Room… how Canadian is that!) and waited to meet Erin and set-up my stuff.  I’d been informed that I needed to bring any cooking utensil that was required for the demonstration, and so I brought Platonic Jeff along to help me carry my bags (kidding – he wanted to say hello to Erin… and offer moral support).

Platonic Jeff on set…

Saucepan, whisk, wooden spoon, flour, butter, eggs, sugar, chocolate, macadamia nuts, vanilla,  square baking pan, tinfoil…. or yeah, and a plate of already completed, ready to eat brownies (the wonders of television).   Everything I would need for the demo.  I was all set.

all the ingredients measured out ready to be used

Pre-segment I got to meet the hosts – Derick Fage and Joanne Jordan.  Any nerves I had prior to meeting them immediately went out the window.  They are simply… HILARIOUS!  We laughed our way through our little meet and greet… and I will admit this – – Joanne totally impressed me by talking about some of my baking methods from older entries (using chickpeas in a cookie recipe)… it is flattering to know that she has really read my blog.  After having built a comfortable rapport with the two of them, I sat around and waited for my turn.

setting my stuff up… final run-thru

After being given the advice to “ignore the camera… talk to the hosts“, we all positioned ourselves behind the kitchen island and waited for the cameras to start rolling.  The entire experience was so much fun!  Seriously.  It was awesome – we chatted about how the blog got started, about my favourite baking memories, my love of all of things lemon… all while I gave orders: Joanne whisked away, and Derick was tasked with adding the necessary ingredients.  I don’t think baking has ever been easier: having a couple of assistants makes it very easy on a gal!  Our segment went a little over (almost 2 whole minutes!!!! SWEET!) – but I know that I had a blast doing it… and I’m pretty sure that Derick and Joanne enjoyed themselves too. 

the 3 of us chatting, laughing… having a great ol’ time!

Oh yeah… and I think Erin and I are going to organize this to be a regular event.  Imagine… once a month baking on TV?  A-MAZ-ING! Thanks to everyone who made this possible… yes, even you Jeff ;0)

Now for that recipe…

(I was on tv) brown butter macadamia nut brownies

ingredients:

6 tbsp brown butter, cut into pieces
8 ounces (225 g) semisweet chocolate chips
3/4 c. sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs, room temperature
1/4 c. flour
1 c. macadamia nuts, coarsely chopped
 
Preheat your oven to 350 F.
 
Line a square baking pan with tin foil (so that the ends extend beyond the sides).  Grease the foil with non-stick spray.  Set aside.
 
In a medium saucepan, melt the butter.  If you do not have brown butter (since most people don’t) – – just allow it to brown while you melt it.  You’ll notice if you leave it over the burner long enough, it carmalizes – that’s the stage you want.  You’ll get that nutty beautiful flavour I keep going on about.

At that point, add the chocolate chips and melt the chocolate over low heat.  You want the chocolate/butter mixture to be smooth and glossy.

 
measuring out the chocolate… otherwise, a heaping cup of chocolate chips

Remove from heat, and stir in the sugar and the vanilla.  Combine everything really well – I use a whisk for this part.  Slowly beat in the eggs, one at a time.  Since your chocolate mixture is really warm at this point, you really need to ensure room temperature eggs so that they don’t curdle.
 
Once they have been fully incorporated, add the flour and stir really well (about 1 minute) – getting rid of the graininess – you want it to be glossy and it will pull away a bit from the sides of the saucepan.
 
Stir in your chopped nuts (a wooden spoon is best for this part… otherwise the nut pieces get caught in the whisk).

a cupful of nuts… measured not chopped ;0)

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and back in the middle rack of your oven for 25 / 30 minutes (depending on your oven).  Don’t over bake – do the wiggle test – the brownies will be ready when you pull out the pan and gently shake it – no wiggle in the centre – GOLD!  Once the brownies are done, take them out of the oven and allow to cool on a wire rack.

excess foil on the sides… brownies pre baking… glossy and beautiful
 

Remove them from the pan by grabbing the excess foil on either side and lifting the entire brownie out of the pan.  Peel away the foil from the sides and then cut into squares – and then again into triangles – you should be able to get 18 triangles – or 9 squares.

sigh worthy… for reals.

If you don’t have any macadamia nuts… don’t worry.  Just use your favourite nut.  I just has some on hand and thought that it would be an amazing combo.  I bet brazil nuts would be equally spectacular… oh… I have got to try that combo!

5 thoughts on “and then i was on tv…

  1. Pingback: butter and scotch… « the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

