they came. i went. it was amazing.

My friend Talya lives in Montréal with her boyfriend Ryan.  You should know that I heart Talya something fierce.  She, Courtney and I were the three amigos several years back…  So when I saw on FB that she and Ryan were looking for people to spend Sunday afternoon at Osheaga music festival with them, I was game.  I mean… I’d get to visit with Talya (who I haven’t seen in far too long), meet Ryan (whom I think is awesome and very funny), and… see the Black Keys.  Yep.  My favourite band was in town and I was going to make the 2 hour plus drive down to check them out.  It was a win-win situation. AWESOME.

talya and ryan… rocking their new shades ;0)

Since Talya was able to get me a great deal on my ticket, and since I hardly ever see her, I wanted to bake her and Ryan something.  I asked what their favourite thing would be and was told… anything with chocolate.  Well… I decided to bake 2 different things – both cupcakes.  Both from the hummingbird bakery cookbook (which we all know that I am a little obsessed with at the moment).  I’m sharing the first one… because, in my opinion, it is the better of the two.  Don’t worry… I’ll share my adventures in baking the other recipe, but these are the ones I consider my black keys peaches and cream rockin’ cupcakes. I absolutely HEART these cupcakes.  Moist, rich, fresh… a perfect cupcake.  I think my twists on the recipe is what makes them so delicious…substituting heavy cream for milk (as per the recipe)… and adding more butter than was required (why use 3 tbsp when you can use 5 tbsp?)… both those things result in an incredibly fluffy batter.  It was amazing (lick worthy, sigh worthy… closing of the eyes worthy)

local ontario peach… straight from the byward market… remember to wash, peel and take the pits out :0)

black key peaches & cream rockin’ cupcakes

ingredients:

1 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 c. white sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1/3 c. butter, room temperature, use salted butter… seriously MUCH better

1/2 c. heavy cream (or buttermilk)

1 egg

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

14 oz. peaches, sliced (about 7 peaches, peeled, pitted, sliced)

Preheat your oven to 325 F.  Line your muffin tin with cupcake liners.  Set aside.

In the bowl of your stand-mixer, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and butter together.  Use your paddle attachment and beat on low until you get a sandy consistency (not mud… sand).  Gradually pour in 1/4 c. of the cream, beat until it is just incorporated.

Grab another bowl, and whisk together the egg, vanilla, and remaining cream.  Pour the wet mixture into the flour mixture – turn the mixer on and beat until just incorporated.  Scrape the sides of the bowl with your spatula – you want the batter to be smooth.

Now you can choose to do one of two things:

1.  leave the peaches in “sliced” form – and line your cupcake liners with the peaches.

OR

2.  you can chop up your peaches and toss them into the batter, right after you tossed in the wet ingredients.

lining the cases with peach slices (option 1)

This recipe (these pictures) followed option 1 – however, the feedback from my taste-testers (Elyse, Mel and Lynn… and me) was that the peaches were lost at the bottom of the cupcake wrapper… and so we all agree that finely chopped pieces of peaches folded into the batter would be much better… but that’s just our own personal tastes.  The original recipe had the peaches lining the bottom of the batter.  You pick your favourite method!

But back to the recipe.

Once you have lined your paper cases with the slices of peaches (fresh is best, but canned peaches are also acceptable – just drain them of their juices), grab your mini ice cream scooper and plop the batter over the peach slices.  Don’t over fill the liner… I did… and so some of my cupcakes spread a little… not the end of the world, just not super professional looking.  sigh.  I then smoothed the batter out by using a small spoon – that way I baked a flat surface…

the scoop of batter atop the peaches

smoothing the batter

cupcakes ready to be baked

Bake in your pre-heated over for 20 – 25 minutes – the cupcakes will be golden and the cake will bounce back when touched.  Let the cupcakes cool slightly (about 10 minutes) in the muffin tin on a wire rack, then turn them over and allow to cool completely.

At that point… you’re ready to frost!

I paired this cupcake with a batch of my vanilla cream cheese frosting.  If you click on the link it’ll show you the recipe for a double batch.  Half it.  You only need half the batch for these cupcakes.  It’s awesome.  No lies.  Tangy the way a good cream cheese frosting ought to be.  AND – I used my big star tip and was able to perfectly top the centre of each cupcake – a cute little dollop of frosting to cap these cupcakes off.

final product… dollop of frosting.  PERFECTION

YUM!  Fresh and so moist… this has got to be my favourite cupcake to make.  Now go to your local market, buy some peaches, turn on the Black Keys and enjoy!

Oh yeah… and the concert… a-maz-ing! My favourite live show yet… and I think I’ve lucked out with seeing some good live shows.  I’m only sad that they didn’t play longer…but check out some of the pictures I got… not bad eh?  They totally rocked it!

8 thoughts on “they came. i went. it was amazing.

  1. Wow, they do look really moist! I like the fact that you just used a dollop of frosting on the top. Too often cupcakes are over-burdened with frosting and the flavour of a great cup-cake gets buried.

    Glad you had a chance to hook up with friends and that you all enjoyed the concert.

  2. Being the recipient of this incredible cupcake gift, I must comment…Seriously AMAZING cupcakes! Mouth watering, moist, and delicious. The perfect cupcake indeed:) I love the icing almost as much as I loved spending the day with you Fraps! On that note, I’m gonna go and eat one right now…yummmmmmm.

  3. First of all – yummms as usual. You know I’m a fan!

    On a kind of unrelated note, tried to send you an email but it bounced back due to vacay, however… am trying to find vanilla beans!! Do you know where I can get any in Ottawa?

    SANKS, LYNNE!!!

    • hey linsiloo – you should be able to find vanilla beans just about anywhere… i go to la bottega in the market for good ones, and they are decently priced. if you have a costco membership – great value there for HUGE vanilla beans. but check out herb & spice, market organics on york street… but la bottega is the better priced of all those places. :0)

  4. Just in the knick of time my friend! I have 1/2 a basket of peaches that were on their way to the bin all too soon- but they are going to be turned into delicious muffins in about 2 hours thanks to this blog! LOVE it. And I hope Jack and todd love them too 🙂

    • i bought more peaches and was going to make muffins too! great minds think alike. AND i’m thinking… a brown butter pie with peaches and raspberries. thoughts? yum. :0)

  5. Pingback: not like the book… « the twisted chef

  6. Pingback: falling in love… « the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

