not like the book…

Remember how I told you I made 2 different types of cupcakes for my Montréal / Black Keys / visit with Talya day?  Well… here they are.

this is how they should look according to the hummingbird bakery…

I’m a little dissapointed.  You see… I’ve been eyeing this recipe for… quite some time, and it just wasn’t working for me.  I had such high hopes.  I mean think about it – black bottom cupcakes – dark chocolate with a dollop of cheesecake baked into it.  How could they be anything but amazing?! But my cheesecake filling never turned out the way I feel it should have… it stayed too loose, it didn’t come together, nice and thick and ready to be dolloped into the cupcake liners.  Nope.  And even the chocolate cupcake batter itself… DRY!  I actually tossed in some heavy cream in an attempt to loosen up the base and attempt to get it to come together.  Sigh.  This recipe wasn’t at all what I hoped for.

Except.

It still tasted pretty darn good.  I pawned it off on some ladies Saturday night – I needed to ensure that it was gift worthy – and they all really enjoyed it.  And then Kailey and Michael got to sample a couple on Monday – and they both seemed to really enjoy them too.  Oh yeah – and Talya and Ryan sounded like they really enjoyed them.  So although it didn’t turn out quite like in the book… I was still able to salvage the idea… kinda, sorta (welcome to my mishaps in the Whalesbone kitchen sometimes too…).

not too pretty, but quite tasty black bottom cupcakes

ingredients:

cupcake base:

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour, sifted

1/2 c. + 1 tbsp white sugar

1/3 c. cocoa powder, sifted

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 c. sunflower oil

1/2 c. water

1 1/2 tsp white vinegar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 c. heavy cream* (my addition, not part of the original recipe)

Preheat your oven to 325 F.  Line your muffin pan with cupcake liners.  Set aside.

Pour the flour, sugar, cocoa, and baking soda in a large bowl and pull out your hand-held mixer.  Mix on low speed until all the dry ingredients are well combined.  Stop.

Now, in a large glass, combine the oil, vinegar, vanilla and water together.  While the electric mixer is on, slowly add the oil mixture, increasing the speed of your mixer as the batter thickens.

At this point, my batter was NOT coming together, it just looked like clumps of wet sand.  Time for the big guns.  Pour in the cream.  Just keep pouring until it all comes together.  Don’t be afraid.  Cream and cupcakes are great friends.  I promise.

Scrape the sides.  Once everything is incorporated – set aside.

cheesecake filling:

4 1/2 oz (just over half a package) of cream cheese

1/3 c. white sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

2/3 c. white chocolate chips

a good solid pour of heavy cream… again, I added this myself

In the bowl of your stand-mixer, using your paddle attachment, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, egg, vanilla and salt.  Use the medium-slow speed until smooth and fluffy.  Mine never got fluffy… hence why I added some heavy cream… images of whipped cream filled my head… that didn’t happen either.  sigh.

Stir in the chocolate chips by hand until evenly incorporated.  Don’t over-mix otherwise it’ll split.  That could have been my problem.  double sigh.

Now that both the base and filling are ready, you can start filling your cupcake liners.

step 1 – filling with the chocolate base

Grab your scooper and fill each liner with a good scoop of chocolate batter.  Grab a large spoon and place a couple of spoonfuls of the cheesecake filling on top (or on the side) of the chocolate base.

step 2 – adding the cheesecake filling

Bake in your oven for 20 minutes – – or until the cupcakes are firm to the touch and the cheesecake filling has a golden colour.

this is how mine turned out… return to the inspiration… i made the poor man’s version :0(

Allow to cool slightly in the pan, and then place on a wire rack in order to cool completely.  I topped these with some cream cheese frosting… since I believe that frosting can make anything taste better.

not so bad once frosted

5 thoughts on “not like the book…

  1. Michael and I would like to continue to help you get rid of your baking ‘mishaps’… these cupcakes were DIVINE! YUM!

  2. Those look wonderfully “organic” (best my caffeine-deprived brain can put together at the moment)

    Hmm…wondering now about letting the cream cheese soften; creaming it with the sugar; mixing in the egg yolk, vanilla, salt; and folding in a whipped egg white…Maybe that will produce “fluffy”….

    Double Hmm…The black bottom cupcakes from the Humming Bird Bakery are iced over completely. Maybe “organic” is how they’re supposed to look?

    http://hummingbirdbakery.com/cupcakes/black-bottom-cupcake/

    • yeah… I noticed that they were completely frosted… I didn’t want to make an extra batch of frosting – and so settled for the dollop on top (using the left over from the peaches and cream cupcakes).

      I also tried it with the cream cheese at room temperature… same result. but next time – whipped egg white. OR even – whipped cream (actually already whipped and stiff) and folding those together… that could be good as well.

      Thanks Don! heart your blog.

  3. Pingback: yessssssssssss… success!!!! « the twisted chef

  4. Pingback: falling in love… « the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

