citrus press. i heart you.

I will not lie.  I hosted (well, actually co-hosted) a Pampered Chef event.  Yep.  Kailey and I gathered some friends together in order to help a former co-worker’s wife start her business.  And… it was fun.  Lots of fun.

My favourite discovery (because I did make some discoveries) was… the citrus press. 

pampered chef’s citrus press

I have balked at the idea of buying a citrus press for quite some time… I can squeeze the juice out of a lemon no problem.. You know, roll it, cut it, squeeze it.  I’m pretty good at getting most of the juice out.  Lemons I can do.  Limes on the other hand… sigh.  Limes are a real pain in my hand (ha!  I am so witty)!  Hard to juice… but so worth it. 

So the anti-juicer girl was shown the citrus press… and was duly impressed.  You should see it in action!  That lime didn’t stand a chance – very smart of Triscilla (our Pampered Chef rep) to demonstrate with a lime… the more difficult of the citrus fruits to juice. 

using a lemon this time round…

All you have to do is cut, place in the hole and… the juice runneth over.  BRILLIANT!  I ordered one on the spot.  And it arrived.

At this point I have my new toy, some lemons and limes… and a recipe for lemonade concentrate.  My cousin-in-law Nicole (also  blogger) posted a recipe for her mother’s homemade lemonade concentrate.  It caught my eye.  Not surprising really… since I heart lemons… and sugar… and making a syrup.  With my new press in hand (pardon the pun), I was ready to make my version of this recipe – a lemon-lime concentrate.  Perfect to get through this ridiculous summer heat.

Thanks Nicole for sharing the recipe ;0)

lemon-lime concentrate

ingredients:

1 c. water

1 c. sugar

1 each lemon and lime,  finely zested

juice of each 2 lemons and limes

In a medium saucepan over high heat, bring the water, sugar and zest to a boil.  Stir the sugar to dissolve.  Also – to ensure that there isn’t crystallization, cover the pan with a lid for a minute – the steam will dissolve any sugar crystallization that gathers on the sides of  pot.  Remove the lid, and boil for 2 minutes.

Strain the syrup into a bowl – discarding the zest. 

Whisk in both the lemon and lime juice.  As per Nicole’s instructions, I transferred the concentrate to a mason jar – refrigerate until needed.   Combine a couple good tablespoons with 1 cup of water.  Since I don’t use as many lemons as Nicole’s original recipe, this recipe doesn’t need any added sugar.  Tart and slightly sweet.  DELISH!

 I’ve been going through it pretty quickly… time to make another batch :0)

4 thoughts on “citrus press. i heart you.

  1. Hey Lynne! Glad to see you are enjoying your summer. I will be at Whalesbone Monday night (WITH brother-in-law and sister-in-law, WITHOUT Mackenzie!) Hope to see you there.

  2. I love my Pampered Chef citrus press too!!! And I definitely have to try this lemon-lime concentrate – very summery!!!

  3. If your a lemonade fanatic like us, you should really have this citrus press. My kids, who are 7 and 5 both girls, uses this with ease. They love making lemonade for the family. I think the lemonade concentrate is a good idea. Although for now, I think I’ll just let my girls enjoy the citrus press for a little while longer, lol! Ever since I let them prepare lemonade themselves, they’ve taken the task seriously and still not showing any signs whatsoever of giving up the chore. lol!

Leave a Reply

