adventures in pie making

authors note:  Thank you Gigi for taking pictures during the show :0) and for joining me on-set.  Thanks Erin for asking me back!

So I was on Ottawa Daytime on Tuesday morning (don’t say I didn’t warn you… there was a sneak peek after all) and it went GREAT!  Wanna know why?

1.  I got to meet TL this time round… who’s super nice and funny

2.  Gigi joined me

3.  I got to park in the expectant mother’s parking spot

That third reason must make you go hummm eh?  Well let me explain.

I’m normally a really organized person… you know, I’m that person that makes a list of all the lists I need to make?  Yep… that’s me.  So while I was packing my stuff Tuesday morning I went through my checklist:

– glass bowls for the cornstarch, sugar, butter + all of those ingredients in sealed Tupperware.  CHECK & CHECK

– glass measuring cup full of sliced peaches + peeled peaches to be sliced.  CHECK & CHECK

– large knife and tea towel.  CHECK & CHECK

– bottle of sailor Jerry’s rum and shot glass to measure it out.  CHECK & CHECK

– rolled out pie crusts – base and topper.  CHECK & CHECK

I packed everything up and went off to pick up Gigi.  We were making great time – arrived at the studio in advance, chatted with Erin (the producer), set up my work station.  And that’s when I noticed what was missing.

I will not lie.  There was a moment of panic.  I glanced at my watch and realized that I had time… but where would I go?  I mean, I was missing:

1.  a large bowl

2.  a wooden spoon

3.  the cinnamon (HECK! I even forgot an ingredient!!)

4.  a measuring spoon.

That’s when Gigi reminded me of the SuperStore.  Thank you LoBlaws!  We jumped in the car and dashed down the road to the Real Canadian SuperStore – home of all necessary kitchen equipment.

That’s when I got to park in the best parking spot ever… the expectant mother’s parking spot:  thank goodness for a 7 month pregnant friend in the passenger seat… Gigi was my ticket to a close parking – making this expedition quick and painless.

prime parking… for realz.

Seriously… those are prime spots!  I need to travel with pregnant people more often :0)

Back to the studio.

nice spoon and large bowl eh?  yeah… i thought it was worth the effort

I finished my set-up, met TL (who is just as nice in person as she appears on the show), briefly chatted with some of the other guests (the pie maker hangs out with the nutritionist… classic eh?) and waited for my turn.

You can check it out here.  That’s right… just click. 

(authors note: this link doesn’t work if you’re on firefox… please switch to explorer)

What do you think?  I think it was AWESOME.  And FUN.

derick was mixing everything and TL was pouring in the sailor jerry’s

i think we were discussing… salt intake at this point ;0)

The pie… well the pie is even better than it looks on TV.  SERIOUSLY.  It’s good pie.  I’m not going to lie.  My pastry crust has improved so much since I first started… flakey and it doesn’t stick to the roof of your mouth… it melts.  MELTS! How brilliant is that?  And the filling?  Well… who doesn’t want to gorge on peaches right now?  So sweet and juicy.  They are heaven in your mouth and belly.  Mix that with the pie crust.  GORGEOUS. Seriously amazing.

If you wanna try… well here’s the recipe.  Please try it.  It’s super yummy… and I should know – – I’ve baked 4 of those pies since last Thursday.  That’s a lot of pie.

(twisted) peach pie

ingredients:

9-inch pie crust, for a double crust  (pastry 101, with step-by-step instructions to follow… promise!)

3 cups (heaping cups) peaches, peeled, sliced and de-pitted

1/2 c. white sugar

3 tbsp corn starch

1/2 tsp cinnamon

shot of  rum

3 tbsp butter, cut into cubes

1 egg, beaten

splash of milk

Preheat your oven to 425 F.

Roll out one of the pastry disks (on a floured surface) to fit a 9-inch pie pan.  Place in the fridge while you work on your filling.

peel and slice the peaches… remove those pits!

In a large measuring cup, combine the sugars, cinnamon and cornstarch together.  Pour that over your sliced peaches, toss to mix.  Add the rum and toss everything thoroughly.

Pour the peach filling into the pie crust, dot with the cubes of butter.

Roll out the second disk of dough on a floured surface – this will be your top crust.

Cover with the top crust – seal and flute the edges, cut slits into the top crust to allow out the steam…

Whisk together the egg and splash of milk.  Brush the egg-wash over the top crust.  Sprinkle with some white sugar.

Bake in the oven for 15 minutes  @ 425 F.  Turn down the heat to 350 F and bake for a further 45 minutes – until the top of the pie is golden and the filling has that glazed, transparent look.

Remove from heat, and allow to cool slightly on a wire rack.

p.s. I have this cool template that you place on the top crust once it’s rolled out and it cuts out little birds… they become the steam vents.  Cool eh? obviously not used on the pie above…

15 thoughts on “adventures in pie making

    • Paula… I saw another one with little apples on it. I am really really tempted… since apple season is underway and I’ll be baking an apple pie or… let’s be honest – I’ll be baking several apple pies ;0)

  1. Hi Lynne!
    Congratulations on your 2nd TV appearance! You look fabulous and it is all so exciting! Love your photographs on your blog – you capture the steps so well.
    I have something I’d like to send you via e-mail but it is too long to post, so could you contact me via e-m please?
    Well done! Sharen

  2. OMG Gigi is PREGERS!!! It’s one thing knowing and ANOTHER seeing!!!!! She looks beautiful!!! I want my cuddles in already!!!

    Oh and LYNNE – Always a superb job roomie on the baking front…..but like there was any doubt! 😉

    Luv Ya! xoxo

  3. Wow! you did excellent on that show! you were so calm and confident! they gave you so much time too…you should see our morning tv shows…they whiz through the segment so fast it’s crazy! by the way, that pie template…that is awesome! I have to get one of those for sure!

  4. Pingback: wordless wednesdays: pie crust 101 « the twisted chef

  5. Pingback: sunday wrap-up « the twisted chef

  6. Pingback: baby shower 1 month later « the twisted chef

  7. Pingback: macaroons … and my advenutres on television « the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

