for the love of pork

I am in pork heaven.  Seriously.  I never thought that I could love pork this much… until I got to San Francisco that is.  They do pork well.  Really well.

Actually… Chef Chris Cosentino does pork really well.   As soon as I booked my trip to San Francisco I went online and made a reservation for dinner at Incanto. Best decision EVER.

I’ve been carrying a copy of the menu in my purse since I arrived in San Francisco (yes… a little obsessive, I’m fully aware) and have been eagerly awaiting this meal.  Number one reason… the heirloom tomato risotto.  I LOVE risotto (yes, love with all caps); and am known for ordering it whenever I see it on a menu.

With that in mind, Marianne (my travel companion for this adventure) and I made our way to the restaurant: we were immediately seated in a quiet corner – large butcher block tables, comfortable banquet seating, softly lit – a low key, unpretentious atmosphere (although we were scolded by the maitre d’ when we arrived 5 minutes late… he threatened to give away our table… drama a little??? – especially since there was no line up, nor were the other empty tables filled once we had arrived)

Presented with the menu (again), Marianne and I made our way through our options – agreeing on the risotto and the handkerchief pasta & rustic pork ragu as shared mains (best way to dine… share lots!).

Our dilemma… how to start????

That’s when we looked at the diners seated next to us , staring open-mouthed at their plates.  Holy… it looked ridiculously delicious.  But what was it???  When in doubt… lean over and ask :0)  It turned out to be the salumi platter – piglet.

Done.  We knew what our starter was going to be.

We placed our order – the food accompanied by a mystery flight of wine (3 Italian wines), and eagerly awaited the starter. First up… the bread basket.

It’s not just your regular bread basket – this one was filled with freshly baked focaccia, slices of baguette, taralli (Italian breadstick), and fresh, salty olive tapenade.  A million sighs.  I enthusiastically piled tapenade atop the bread… yes… I closed my eyes in appreciation.  Delight.

Midway through our bread basket we were served the salumi platter.

I think I moaned my way through the starter –the soppressata di Calabria was perfection.  It was the highlight of the dish – served with a salsa verde is was light, slightly sweet.  Just imagine baguette, a clove of roasted garlic, fresh grainy mustard, a piece of salumi…. a million signs.  Or even better… head cheese with pickled onions piled atop the fresh focaccia.  Moan.

It was the perfect starter – definitely meant to be shared.

Once the dishes were cleared away we were presented with our mains.  OMG.

handkerchief pasta & rustic pork ragu

The ragu… smooth, fresh, light handmade pasta.  The pork ragu was peppered with sage, and perfectly salty.  Topped with freshly grated parmesan cheese.  Amazing.

heirloom tomato risotto

Creamy risotto, fresh toy box tomatoes, drizzled in tomato oil – – a taste of sunshine.  The box tomatoes burst in my mouth… the entire dish was a symphony of flavours.  I was in food heaven.

Everything tasted as fresh, local and as delicious as any meal I’ve had in Italy.  Authentic Italian food – simple flavours, perfectly flavoured, properly executed.  Beautiful.

Time for dessert.  How about rose geranium panna cotta & strawberries?  Sounds delish doesn’t it?

This was probably the low point of the meal (for me… Marianne was disappointed with the mystery flight of wine)… the panna cotta was a little too intensely infused with rose geranium.   But as you can see… we still ate the entire  thing.

If you’re ever in San Francisco – I highly recommend hitting up Incanto.  You won’t regret it… I promise.  Please don’t forget to try the piglet salmui platter… it was pork-a-licious.

3 thoughts on “for the love of pork

  1. These pictures are amazing, but still don’t do the food justice! The flight of wine, however, looks WAY better in the picture…such a disappointment.

    Brassard sisters, this entry was dedicated to you and your other halves…. and no comments???

  2. My mouth was watering reading this…and I think at this point I would have ldrank and oved the flight of wine, no matter how awful it was.

    I am soo, soo jealous of your adventure…are you doing any sightseeing, or just eating??? 🙂

    • our trip thus far involves pork and shopping… oh yeah and hours of walking around the city (to find more pork…) oh yeah… and we caught a giants game. go giants go!

Leave a Reply

