too much of a good thing… can be a bad thing…

The cupcake crawl continued.

I started my San Francisco crawl by hitting up Kara’s CupcakesRemember how much I loved the passion fruit cupcake? Moist cake and tart filling.  BUT horrible frosting.  Well… I went back for more.  It was a DISASTER.  Seriously…the following two cupcakes were carefully selected… they looked appealing, their descriptions elevated them even more, and well… I needed to see if Kara’s could redeem itself (at least frosting wise).

fleur de sel (chocolate cupcake with caramel filling, chocolate ganache frosting, fleur de sel)

blackberry cream (chocolate cupcake filled with blackberries & cream, blackberry buttercream frosting)

YAK.  Both chocolate cupcakes tasted like a cake mix… and the frostings… the ganache was too thick, the caramel filling was burnt.  The blackberry buttercream was overwhipped again… and I’m convinced… absolutely convinced that they use lard.

Kara’s Cupcakes are not recommended if you’re partaking in your own San Francisco cupcake crawl.

At this point I’d already sampled the best cupcake evermiette‘s old fashioned chocolate and Italian meringue frosting. So I went back and grabbed their gingerbread cupcake (gingerbread cake with cream cheese frosting).

OMG.  It was delish!  The gingerbread was nice and spicy – full of nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice.  It was full of flavour – cut by the simple cream cheese frosting – nice and tart.  Complimentary to the spiciness of the cake.  Not as good as their old fashioned chocolate but a close second.

At this point Marianne told me about another little bakery – that takes the cakehand frosted memories.  Sounds cute eh?  We both thought so too.  Off we went to the other end of town… ending up in a charming little bakery, full of beautiful cupcakes.  It was a little overwhelming… we narrowed it down to a few… but still couldn’t decide between:

funky monkey (banana cake, filled with pecans & chocolate chips, chocolate frosting)

gentlemen prefer reds (traditional red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting)

razzle dazzle (chocolate cupcake, topped with raspberry buttercream frosting)

prom queen (strawberry cake, topped with fresh strawberry buttercream frosting)

We ordered one of each :0) We immediatley sampled the prom queen – delish.  The cake was filled with fresh strawberry goodness, was super moist and the buttercream was creamy and smooth.  Excellent!  We then sampled the gentlemen prefer reds – red velvet cake.  YUM.

We waited before sampling the other two… and were… disappointed.  Marianne loved the frosting for the razzle dazzle, according to her, “the best frosting so far – exactly what a frosting should be: thick and smooth.  And pretty.”  But both of us weren’t wowed by the cupcake… it was blah.  Nothing outstanding about it…. especially after having sampled the first two cupcakes (which were so excellent).

The funky monkey was… not a winner either.  The cake was a little dry and was too heavy.  I really wanted to like it… but I just didn’t.

If in San Francisco I would recommend a stop at that takes the cake – if only for the friendly service (we met one of the owners – super nice, great customer service) and to try their red velvet.  It was good.  Really good.  Plus… all the cupcakes look so pretty in their display.

inside the bakery – co-owner Brian Williams behind the counter – GREAT customer service

After several days of cupcake sampling my stomach is finally on revolt… I think I hit my limit (hence the title of this blog… too much of a good thing isn’t always great)… but then again… give me a couple of days and I’m sure I’ll be ready to hit up another cute, retro, fun little bakery and sample their baked goods… especially in the cupcake form.

3 thoughts on “too much of a good thing… can be a bad thing…

  1. lard is not used in bakeries but a mixture of shortening that comes in 5# buckets, it’s cheap and whip well even for frosting but taste like margarine. it’s hard to find baking made with real butter because they don’t advertise it yet but maybe one day they will specially now that baking goods advertise no trans-fat. saturated fat is better than trans fat if we balance it with MUFA
    As fas as the red velvet is concerned,it used to be my fav BD cake when my mom was baking for me because I didn’t realise then how much red dye #5 is in it…!
    what I would like to know is what is San Francisco cuisine known for now? When I was there in the 70s it was smoothies!
    cheers

  2. I suddenly have this craving for a miette old fashioned chocolate and Italian meringue frosting cupcake – you know how much I heart anything meringue!!!

Leave a Reply

