perfect day

Yesterday was the best day!  Why?  Well…

1.  It was a beautiful, sunny, warm(ish) kinda day.  The kind of day where the sunshine greets you when you open your eyes and everything looks beautiful.

2.  I got to (finally) meet Marysol, my she eats bears friend.  I brought her some mini pumpkin chocolate chip pecan spice loaves.

pumpkin chocolate chip pecan spice loaf

3.  I met Marysol in her new restaurant – Edgar (on the Gatineau side, just at the entrance of Gatineau Park, Alexandre-Taché entrance).  I heart Edgar something fierce!  It’s PERFECT.  If you’ve been to Montréal’s Olive & Gourmandoit kinda reminds me of that… the same feel.  Which is warm and welcoming and friendly… The doors aren’t open quite yet… but soon.  It’s already amazing…

4.  Marysol gifted me with some apple raisin pecan sticky buns.

Looks good doesn’t it?  It was… and is (I’m eating another one as I write this).

5.  I spent the better part of my day riding my bike.  What a spectacular day!  Nice and warm in the sun… imagine… still riding my bike in October… in Ottawa!? I LOVE IT!!!!

and finally… the best part of my day,

6.  Olivier.

My cousin Olivier is… one of my favourite little people :0)

He was born a little over two months after I moved to Ottawa for University – so I can basically say that I have been a part of his life since he was born.

When Olivier was 3, I moved in with my aunt and uncle – crashing on their pull-out couch.  Somehow, Olivier and I devised a game:  every night when he was getting ready for bed we would pull out my bed and say “allô lit” (hello bed); and every morning he would run downstairs and wake me up… eager to say “bye-bye lit“.  Seriously.  Every. Single. Day.  Even on weekends. We would both laugh and giggle our way through the making of the bed, making sure that his little fingers didn’t get trapped and pinched… and then we would go to the kitchen and eat banana with peanut butter. Every. Single. Day.  Even on weekends.  I loved those mornings and nights.  I loved that Olivier and I got to spend so much time together and that I really knew my little cousin.

So when Marie (his mother) asked if I wouldn’t mind babysitting him last night I was thrilled.  I decided to introduce Olivier to Cheezy Luigis pizza.  Done. I have a new convert… Olivier informed me that it was “vraiment une très bonne pizza” (a very good pizza).  Excellent!

Prior to arriving that afternoon, I had decided that Olivier and I would bake together.  I had arrived at their place with a few apples, pears, dried dates and a lemon.  I figured that Marie would have some brown sugar, flour, butter, and rolled oats in her pantry: and since fall is the perfect time of year for a crisp; that’s what Olivier and I were going to make, an apple pear date crisp.  YUM.

I chopped all the fruit (dried dates can be difficult to cut – use scissors if you want) and then Olivier pulled together the crisp topping and was responsible for all the mixing.

It’s a really easy recipe (probably the easiest thing in the entire world to make) – perfect for a 31-year-old and 11-year-old to conquer.  And not only did it make the house smell ridiculously amazing… but it tasted good.  Real good. Or as Olivier proclaimed “ça… c’est vraiment bon!”

(olivier and my) apple pear date crisp

ingredients:

fruit base:

3 apples, peeled, cored and sliced

3 pears, cored and sliced

1/2 c. dried dates, coarsely chopped

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

juice of 1 lemon

1/2 c. brown sugar

crispy topping:

2 c. rolled oats

3/4 c. flour

1 c. brown sugar

1 c. butter, melted

Preheat your oven to 350 F.

Olivier mixing everything together

Place all your sliced fruit and chopped dates in a large bowl.  Add the lemon juice, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Grab a large wooden spoon and mix well.

Then dump it all into your rectangular baking dish.  Step 1 is complete.

Time to make your crispy topping.

In another bowl, combine the oats, flour and brown sugar.  Pour the melted butter on top and mix well.  Pour over the fruit base and spread it around.

Bake for about 40 minutes… you want the fruit to be tender when you stick a fork in them.  Since I didn’t use any flour to thicken the base, it’ll be a little juicy.  That’s ok.  Allow the crisp to rest for about 10 minutes and then dig in.

It was DELICIOUS… if I do say so myself… which I have.  Actually… I’m pretty sure I told Marie that it was cochon.  Yeah… like the pig.  It’s that good.  Clasp for me and Olivier!  We did good :0)  The perfect end to the perfect day… Marysol and Edgar, sticky bun, bike ride, Olivier, Cheezy Luigis and crisp.  That is one solid day.

11 thoughts on “perfect day

    • Marysol mentioned that to me too! I think she should sell her granola as well and write on the chalk board that it’s the best granola EVER!!! (in the whole wide world) like they have at Olive & Gourmando! we’ll have to go for breakfast together!

  1. wowee – Olivier is all grown-up now! Can’t wait to try the crisp recipe this weekend. Will have to search for pears but the dates should be easy to come by 🙂

  2. wow! I just made that recipe from the Happy Baker and it’s all gone. there’s 1c of walnuts in the topping which makes it more crispy.

  3. Cooking with kids is just the best. Any time my son shows any interest in cooking with me I jump on the opportunity. (It’s also a really good way for him to convince Mom to bake brownies an hour before bedtime.)

  4. Yum! Went to a friend’s place for dinner last night and brought the crisp – almost nothing was left from the huge dish. I had overdone it on the cinnamon front, so I didn’t think the kids would enjoy it, but everyone wanted more. Ended up doubling the amount of fruit to compensate for me not measuring the spices (oops!), and it was still fantastic. Merci, Lynne!

  5. I’m just getting to read this lovely post now. I loved the section about you and your nephew especially. It is wonderful to have such a close and fun relationship with him. You two have certainly bonded since the beginning and making memories in the kitchen is such a joy. What a good looking young man Oliver is and what a great crisp the two of you made.

    P.S. I’ve made apple and pear crisp but never with dates before…nice twist on an old favourite.

Leave a Reply

