sweetgrass aboriginal bistro

I finally made it to Sweetgrass Aboriginal Bistro.  After my memorable experience sampling their food at Oz Kafe‘s industry night – I’ve  been anxious to actually dine at the restaurant.

I didn’t know what to expect – memories of the rabbit rillet from Oz Kafe filled my head… and so although I was certain that the food would live up to my expectations,  I was curious to actually dine in the restaurant itself.

Super cute!  The bistro is really laid back – warm and welcoming.  Perfect little spot to hang out, chill and enjoy a good meal among friends.

My first reason to heart this place – they serve popcorn.  Yep.  A bowl of popcorn – which I gobbled right up (put popcorn in front of me and I can’t resist).  Loved it!

I then decided to start with the Three Sister Soup – based on the three traditional staples: corn, carrots, beans.  It was a flavourful broth based soup: exactly the type of thing you want to eat on a cold, damp night (I also tasted the soup of the day, a broccoli leek potage – amazing).

I debated about ordering the Sweetgrass Cassoulet – Braised Lamb Flank, House made kielbasa, Duck Confit and Bacon, with Great northern beans and Spinach.  I know… it sounds so good… and it looked good (a guy at another table ordered it… I know this because I interrupted his meal to ask him what he was eating); but in the end, I wasn’t super hungry… I wanted to get something a little lighter.

And that’s how I ended up with the Elk Dumplings – Slow cooked elk stuffed dumplings, sautéed mushrooms and spring onions, mustard crème fraiche.  Ridiculously delicious. 

I don’t regret my decision.  Imagine cutting into a dumpling, dipping the elk meat in the mustard crème fraiche, piling some sautéed mushrooms on your fork and enjoying that bite.  Oh… so good.  So very very good.

It was then time for dessert.  It’s a nice dessert menu – lots of options; but only one really pulled at me. 

double chocolate brownie  chocolate brownie, covered in chocolate ganache, topped with hazelnut ice cream, white chocolate and dark chocolate sauce, sprig of mint.

All I can say is…. WOW.  It was decadent, delicious, intense, rich, wonderful… once I started eating, I really had to remind myself to stop.

one little piece left…

I’m eager to return and actually try the Sweetgrass Cassoulet… or maybe the Bistro Buffalo Burger…

One thought on “sweetgrass aboriginal bistro

  1. everything sounds so familiar but different from here in the Yukon…after having the privilege of eating wild meat for more than 30 years, moose, caribou, salmon & lake trouts, my favorite plat de resistance was the SEA PIE/CIE-PAILLE that I manage to bake a couple of Easters with wild rabbits,grouse and ducks in Teslin. that was a feast that took 2 days to prepare but left us with memories. I hope that you too will be able to enjoy it one day. in the mean time, bean soup will be on my menu soon!

Leave a Reply

