baby shower 1 month later

About a month ago I hosted a baby shower.  Remember my friend Gigi?  Well – the last time you saw her she was just about 7 months pregnant … right now I’m just waiting for the phone call telling me I’m going to be an aunt.  She’s ready to pop!

But let’s go back a month; back to that baby shower.

I have to admit something… I am not a baby shower planner extraordinaire :0)

I don’t do games. 

I don’t do balloons and decorating. 

I don’t make savoury, tea-time snacks. 

Nope.  I don’t do any of those things. 

But I do bake (lots of goodies).

I do find the BEST spot in the city to host the event.

I do fill the room with friends and family .

And I do take notes for the mother-to-be as she unwraps all her presents (which, had you been in the room you would have laughed – I couldn’t remember the word for a bib… seriously).

Once I’d offered to host I realized something… I can’t do it at my place!  My apartment fits 4 (maybe 5) people comfortably.  Not really an ideal location for a dozen people and baby paraphernalia. 

Enter Platonic Jeff.  His apartment building has THE GREATEST green room / roof top patio EVER.  For reals – with views of the canal, you couldn’t ask for a better spot.  Thank you Platonic Jeff for coordinating that for me.

I figured since I don’t do games, that the food would have to be pretty darn good.  It had to be something that Gigi would like; but I wanted it to be a recipe I hadn’t tried yet.  And that’s when I decided on this key lime tart.  It’s a-maz-ing!  If you are expecting a key lime pie – this isn’t it – there is no whipped cream / or Italian meringue on top of the lime custard filling – this is all about the crust and the filling.  This tart serves up a real punch of lime – making it nice and tart, with a crunchy graham cracker / coconut base.  Perfect for an afternoon party.

Gigi’s craved my carrot cake throughout her pregnancy – so I made sure I had some carrot cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, and mini rounds of my lemon cake (also cream cheese frosting) – another of Gigi’s favourites.  The treats were rounded out with my dark chocolate almond shortbread, and our friend Chloé made mouth-watering mint nanaimo bars and date squares (oh how I heart date squares).  Sounds like a lot of food eh?  Yeah… it was – but everyone left with doggie bags full of little squares and treats – that my friends, is my idea of a great party. 

graham-coconut crust

ingredients:

1 c. shredded coconut

2 c. graham cracker crumbs

2 tbsp firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 c. butter, melted

Preheat your oven to 300 F.  SPray a 9-inch springform pan with non-stick spray – set aside.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, evenly spread out the coconut, and toast it in the oven, until golden (about 7 minutes).  You’ll want to watch the coconut to ensure it doesn’t burn, tossing it around from time to time.

Grab a large bowl.  Mix together the graham cracker crumbs, brown sugar and toasted coconut; use your hands to toss everything well.  Add the melted butter.  Mix well (again, use your hands), then press the base into your prepared pan.  You want an even layer – so press gently with your palms and fingertips.

Place the crust in your fridge for 15 minutes, allowing it to chill.  Then bake in the oven for 10 minutes – getting the crust golden brown.  Allow to cool before filling with the key lime filling.

key lime tart

ingredients:

1 recipe graham-coconut crust

3 eggs

2 egg yolks

3/4 c. sugar

1 1/2 c. heavy cream

zest and juice, 3 key limes

powdered sugar

Keep the oven at 300 F.

In the bowl of your stand mixer, using your whisk attachment, beat the eggs, egg yolks and sugar for about 2 minutes – the mixture will turn pale.  Beat in the cream, lime zest and lime juice.

Pour the mixture into the prebaked crust.  Bake it for about 45 minutes – you want the custard to be set (you don’t want it to jiggle when you move it side to side / back and forth).

Let it cool to room temperature, then refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving.

Just before serving, dust with the powdered sugar.

That’s it.  Simple to make.  It looks beautiful and tastes even better!

Here are a few pictures from the shower… check out those baked goods!  And doesn’t Gigi look amazing!?! 

7 thoughts on “baby shower 1 month later

  1. Hi Lynne – everything you make (and display in your photographs)looks delicious! I have put on 20 lbs. since subscribing to your blog! Just teasing – you do a fabulous job. Did you try the Czech tarts recipe yet? Seriously melt-in-your-mouth!

  2. Gigi does look amazing and hopefully her baby will arrive safe and sound real soon. Maybe a Halloween baby?! Your tart looks fabulous and I love the idea of the coconut in the crust! Your little lemon cakes…beautiful.

Leave a Reply

