chocolate. caramel. almonds. oh my…



This dessert is … well, it’s pretty darn intense.  It’s rich and gooey, it’s dense and chocolatey.  It’s pretty darn fantastic.  That’s right … this chocolate torte is unlike any one you’ve had before.

I blame it on the candy bars.

That’s right.  This recipe calls for chocolate bars.  4 chocolate bars to be exact.  And then … you top the torte with a sticky toffee sauce.  Holy heck!  It’s A-MAZ-ING.

I discovered this recipe in the cookbook chocolate chocolate (by Lisa Yockelson) … it’s a feast for the eyes – full of chocolate goodness – every single recipe in the book has one common factor: chocolate.

I spend many happy evenings flipping through the pages, my mouth watering as I read the descriptions, gawk at the pictures and start prioritizing the recipes.  This is the one made the cut.

Peanut Fudge Turtle Torte.

That’s right… only I didn’t use peanuts – I used almonds.  And I didn’t make the recommended nutty turtle topping, I decided to use my own sticky toffee sauce.  This was an instance of personal preference and also using what I had on hand in my pantry :0)

I learned a couple of things baking this the first time.  (1)  The next time I make this – I will use a rectangular pan and cut the pieces into small squares … it’s the sort of dessert were you eat the entire piece because it tastes so good … but one small bit is probably just enough (this dessert really does prove “moderation is best”).  (2) I will only make the sticky toffee sauce just prior to plating and serving the torte – otherwise it gets too hard and doesn’t lend itself well to the gooey nature of the torte itself.

But it certainly is worth making again … and next time – I’m going to use oh henry chocolate bars … I have some waiting for that exact purpose actually :0) (thank you Halloween).

Bakers note: this recipe doesn’t require your stand-mixer… however … I sure did make use of bowls, whisks, spatulas … this is not a one-bowl experience … but it sure is worth the dishes (plus… you have some time while you allow it to bake).


almond fudge torte

ingredients:

4 bars, chocolate-covered peanut and caramel candy bars (recommended Snickers), cut into chunks

1 c. + 2 tbsp flour, sifted

1 tbsp cocoa powder, sifted

1/4 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

14 tbsp butter, melted and cooled to tepid

4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled to tepid

4 eggs

1 3/4 c. + 1 tbsp sugar

2 tsp vanilla

3/4 c. almonds, roasted

sticky toffee sauce

handful slivered almonds, roasted

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Spray your 9-inch springform pan with nonstick spray.  Set aside.

Crush the chunks of chocolate bars lightly.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt together.

In another bowl, whisk together the melted butter and melted chocolate until smooth.

In yet another bowl, whisk the eggs until blended, about 15 seconds.  Blend in the vanilla extract and melted butter-chocolate mixture.  Sift in the dry ingredients, using a spatula, stir to combine; forming a dough.  Stir in the chunks of candy and the almonds.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and spread evenly.

Bake the torte @ 350 F for 10 minutes.  Reduce the temperature to 325 F and bake for a further 25 – 30 minutes (my oven was being a pain … so my torte baked for a further 45 minutes).  You’ll know it’s ready when the centre of the torte is softly-set (not wobbly or liquidy).

As recommended earlier – make the sticky toffee sauce just prior to serving your torte.  It’s worth doing this part last minute.

Once done, spread the topping randomly over the torte, then sprinkle that with a handful of roasted slivered almond pieces.

There you have it – I swear people will be swooning over this dessert (I made it for my friend Vanessa’s birthday and she loved it) – and even with all the twists I recommend to the recipe, I’d make it again.  Heck – I’ll probably make it again for a dinner next week :0)

3 thoughts on “chocolate. caramel. almonds. oh my…

Leave a Reply

