holiday cookie 1.0

It’s official.  It’s that time of the year.  December 1st has come and gone – and with it, the beginning of the holidays.

That means… cookies.

Everyone loves a good holiday cookie.  We all have our favourites.  Some are suckers for shortbread.  Or sugar cookies.  Others prefer the spicy nature of gingerbread.  I belong to that group.  I heart a good gingersnap.  My personal favourite is probably this one … a recipe I’ve been making for years (thank you Robin and Barb for sharing your family recipe with me)… and I LOVE it.

But sometimes … you need to spice things up a little.  Try something new.  Step out of your comfort zone.  And try a new cookie recipe.

With that in mind – I’ve decided to try a few new recipes out (at least they are new to me) … who knows.  I might just find something that will knock my socks off.  And perhaps (just perhaps), I will find a recipe that will dethrone my adored gingersnaps from their place of honour.  We’ll see …

I started my little recipe-test over the weekend.  I was visiting my Papa and Marielle, and my sister Anne was home too.  Anne loves my gingersnaps almost as much as I do (actually… perhaps even more) – so I knew that I had the perfect test-audience for this one.

spicy molasses cookies

With a kick of black pepper, and lots of ginger (the recipe called for ground, I also added some finely minced fresh ginger), this one was a winner.  It doesn’t hurt that the batch made … 100 cookies!  I’d say that’s a complete winner – you can fill your own personal cookie jar and gift it to friends and loved ones.  Oh yeah – and they were tasty.  I won’t lie.  They are completely different from the traditional gingersnap – but they are one solid cookie.  Definitely worthy of making again and adding to my list of favs.  Oh yeah – and they freeze.  So you can make them now and take them out when everyone starts invading your house in a couple of weeks (or you go visiting people and want to bring along a gift).

spicy molasses cookies

ingredients:

2 1/4 c. flour, sifted

1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

3/4 c. butter, softened

1/3 c. white sugar

1/3 c. packed brown sugar

1 egg yolk

1/2 c. dark molasses

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp fresh, finely grated ginger

1/3 c. raw sugar

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, ginger, cloves, salt and pepper.  Set aside.

In the bowl of your stand-mixer (I used a hand-held for this one), beat together your butter and sugars.  You want a really fluffy batter, so beat for a few minutes, scraping the sides of the bowl.  Beat in the egg yolk, molasses, fresh ginger, and vanilla until combined.

Gradually beat in the flour mixture.

Cover the bowl and chill until easy to handle (about an hour, but overnight is fine too).

When you’re ready to start baking – preheat your oven to 375 F.  Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper.  You should be good with two cookie sheets – although, if you have more, use them – you get 100 cookies, and they do spread while baking.

Shape your dough into 1-inch balls.  Roll the balls in the raw sugar to coat.

Place them about 2-inches apart (remember, they will spread).  Bake for 8 minutes.

Remove from the oven, let stand on the cookie sheet for 1 minute, then allow to cool completely to a wire rack.

And then try to eat just one.  I bet you can’t stop.  We couldn’t :0)

8 thoughts on “holiday cookie 1.0

  1. Lynne – I was already planning on using your blog as inspiration for my Christmas baking! You posting cookie recipes front and center makes life very easy for me!

    Thank you!

  2. I love the dark spicy taste of molasses and molasses cookies but have never had a cookie that included black pepper. Quite interesting. I may have to give them a try!

    • I hadn’t tried a molasses cookie with black pepper either Annie – but it’s good. REALLY good. you don’t have to worry about this being an overly sweet cookie … and it’s really not too spicy. it’s about perfect. :0)

  3. thank you for this first cookie, it’s also on my list and especially gord’s fav!
    black pepper was used in england before they found ginger..

  4. wonderfull soft and chewy cookie. I bake some for a potluck supper and making chicken cacciatore also. gord loves molasses cookies and I can never find the One recipe that was like the molasses galettes of st Mathiew but this one is close. I find them a bit sweet cause I dont use salt so next time will cut the br sugar
    cheers!

  5. These were easy to make and incredible! I love the kick of the fresh ginger – next time I might even add a little more! Michael is sad b/c I have frozen the cookies (christmas gifts) and told him he can’t eat any!

  6. Pingback: holiday cookie 5.0 « the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

