holiday cookie 5.0

This is it.  The fifth and final installment of my holiday cookie adventure.

I started on this journey trying to find a cookie that would top my gingersnap cookie.  You know … the one Robin and her mother passed on to me.  Basically … I’m considering this my family recipe (I spent a lot of time at Robin’s house growing up).

My journey lead me to discover:

1.  a delicious and chewy little spicy molasses cookie.

2.  a surprisingly tasty little chocolate ginger espresso cookies.  It requires a bit of work – but sure does look pretty.

3.  a thin, uber moist little ginger-maple thins.  A new Canadian classic me thinks.

4.  ginger-molasses lemon cookies.  I have declared it, and will stand by it, as my ultimate favourite holiday cookie.  (this did top the original gingersnap cookie).

And now for cookie number 5.  Inspired by my brother Louis.

I remember watching Louis slather a piece of white bread with peanut butter, cover that with an equal amount of molasses, and then top it with another piece of white bread.  After school snack.  Yep.  My reaction … astounded.  I preferred the classic peanut butter and honey combo and couldn’t understand his desire to ruin the peanut butter with sticky, bitter molasses.

Oh how things have changed.

Now I could eat spoonfuls of molasses.  No bread or peanut butter required.  Yes … you may look at me with complete bewilderment.

And so … with my brother in mind I decided to make these cookies.

They are … not for the faint hearted.  Heck.  These could be a meal.  Do I recommend these for the cookie spread?  Not really.  But I totally recommend these as a pre-playing in the snow snack.  Or a not to sweet treat in the morning.  These cookies stick to your bones.  In the best way imaginable.

Do not expect these to be at all like the other cookies I’ve been sharing with you.  They aren’t at all the same sort of cookie.  I can’t stress enough that these are dense.  And not sweet.  And not gingery.  But I still liked them.   Enough to eat half a dozen over the course of an afternoon.  I was giving my sweet tooth a little rest :0)

And so I present to you my peanut butter molasses cookies.  Made for my brother Louis.  But you should make them too.

peanut butter molasses cookies

ingredients:

1/2 c. butter, softened

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. molasses

1 1/4 c. flour, sifted

1 c. oats

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

chocolate chips, melted

Preheat your oven to 375 F.  Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside.

In the bowl of your stand-mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until it gets nice and fluffy – about 5 minutes.  Add the egg.  Beat well and scrape the sides of the bowl.  Now mix in the peanut butter, the molasses, and the vanilla.

In another bowl, combine all your dry ingredients: flour, oats, baking powder and soda, cinnamon and salt.

Add to the wet mix – mix until incorporated.  This shouldn’t take very long … maybe 1 minute.

This batter does not require cooling before handling.  It’s a drop cookie.

Drop a spoonful of cookie dough on your prepared cookie sheet (I use two spoons to assist in the dropping of the dough – it’s pretty sticky … thank you Arctic Andrew for showing me how to cornell the dough).  These cookies spread while they bake – so leave about 2-inches between each cookie.

Flatten with a fork.

Bake for 6 minutes.  But you should watch them carefully.

Leave on the cookie sheet for 4 minutes and then cool completely on a wire rack.  These are the types of cookies that get better as they sit … otherwise you don’t really taste the molasses – you’ll think you’d made just a peanut butter cookie.  Wait and you’ll see that it improves.

I then melted some chocolate chips in a double-boiler and then piped the chocolate over the cooled cookies.  Otherwise the cookies aren’t sweet AT ALL.

This is the one recipe where you will not feel like you’re baking holiday cookies.  So if you can’t be bothered to make it this weekend (but you should), then whip it up once you are over the ginger.  Over the spice.  Over the holiday flavours.  These could become a new staple in your life.  For reals.

Thanks Louis for the inspiration :0)

3 thoughts on “holiday cookie 5.0

  1. Lynne – my all time fav after school snack was toasted Rideau Bakery rye bread with PB and Molasses! Your brother has excellent taste – and I can’t wait to give these a try!

  2. Have you had molasses with cream cheese on bread? It’s what I lived on for my first month in Germany. Until I decided that cheese and meat on bread was a good breakfast after all.

Leave a Reply

