edgar granola shortbread cookie

Oh sigh.

This is one heck of a good cookie.

It’s crispy – which is good.  It’s buttery – which is excellent.  And it’s got an amazing flavour.

Thank you Edgar.  I used their granola.

I was flipping through the pages of the cheese board recipe book when I read : killer granola cookiesReally?  That good? Well … why not try the recipe and see.  I could have made my own granola … except, Marysol makes a really tasty version; and we all know I heart all things Edgar – so why not create the Edgar granola cookie.  I thought it was a brilliant idea.  I’m still patting myself on the back.

The thing that surprised me the most when I finally tasted these cookies was how much they reminded me of a shortbread / butter cookie.  As in … melt in your mouth butter cookie.  DELISH. 

I would change one thing to this recipe.  I would dip half of it in white chocolate.  Yes … the crunchy nature of the cookie, all that buttery goodness, dipped in a little white chocolate.  I bet that would be a-maz-ing.  Not necessary – but it would be a pretty darn nice addition.

Which means that I need to whip up another batch of these.  Maybe I’ll go and do that … right now … :0)

edgar’s granola cookie

ingredients:

1 c. salted butter, room temperature

3/4 c. firmly packed light brown sugar

1 1/2 c. edgar’s granola

1 tsp vanilla

pinch of coarse sea-salt

2 c. flour, sifted

1/3 c. chopped, toasted pecans

In a large bowl, and with a wooden spoon (no hand-mixer or stand-mixer required!), cream together the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy (about 2 minutes).  Toss in the granola, vanilla, salt, flour and pecans.  Mix until just incorporated.  Done.  Simple right?

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and divide in half.  Using your palms, roll each piece into a log (about 4 1/2 inches long and 2 inches wide).  Wrap each log in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or up to 24 hours (a little tip – that I honestly haven’t tried yet – but if you want a perfect log, take a paper towel roll, cut it down the middle and then wrap it around your log – shape the dough inside it – and that should create a perfect log … or so they tell me).

Once you’re ready to bake these up …

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Line your baking sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside.

Cut each log into 1/4 inch thick pieces and place the cookies 1-inch apart on the prepared pans. 

They really don’t spread much when baking – so don’t stress about baking several cookies at once. 

Bake in the middle 2 racks of the oven for about 20 minutes, or golden brown – you might be tempted to keep baking them – don’t.  They really become crispy as they cool. 

Transfer the cookies to a wire rack and allow to cool completely.

And then … grab a glass of milk (or make some tea), and dig in.  The perfect afternoon, sitting around and doing nothing, kind of snack.

2 thoughts on “edgar granola shortbread cookie

  1. Am a granola girl and I still eat the stuff and make my own. sure I will try these cause my fave cookie is shortbread and I didn’t make any for xmas yet!!
    thanks
    Bonne & Heureuse Annee!

  2. Well, gosh, this cookie totally did not cooperate with me. I wanted some cookies right away, so tried forming some before refrigerating the dough. That part worked okay, but the 20 minute prescribed cooking time made them extremely brown – nearly burnt. I was cooking dinner at the time and didn’t notice them going too far… So I formed logs and refrigerated them… Went to cut them and they did not hold together at all. I tried letting the rolls soften at room temp for a bit to see if that would help… no good. I will freeze the resulting cookie crumbles to use on ice cream.

Leave a Reply

