marmalade-walnut brownies

I love marmalade.  I didn’t use to.  Actually – I thought it was vile.  I’d get upset if I mistakenly selected the jar of marmalade from the fridge and slathered it on my toast.  But my grandmother loved it – and loved making it.  Every year, she would spend a weekend making her marmalade, jarring it up and passing it out.  She even did this while she was in Spain (it’s true – she went out and picked her own oranges that year and made some jam while on vacation).  Now that I am older and wiser and have developed an appreciation for marmalade, I think of my grandmother.  That’s a good thing :0)

This time round however I didn’t think of my grandmother.  I thought of Chloé’s mom, Céline.  Céline gifted me with a jar of her homemade marmalade last year – she had made a particularly good batch and was spreading the love :0)  Since today is Céline’s birthday – I thought it would be appropriate to make these brownies – and use her marmalade.

This recipe is worth making (even if you aren’t a marmalade lover).  Why? 

Because …

1.  My entire kitchen smelled of oranges and chocolate.  Not a bad thing.

2.  The brownies are really dark and gooey. 

3.  The batter tastes AMAZING (yes … I’m admitting to eating more raw batter … I honestly just licked the spoon… I was super curious to see how it would taste).

I played around with the recipe a bit … I wanted to add a little more punch to the flavour – dried cherries and orange zest did the trick. 

marmalade-walnut brownies

ingredients:

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 cup butter, melted

3 eggs

1/2 c. orange marmalade

1 tsp vanilla

1 c. flour, sifted

3/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 c. walnuts, toasted and chopped

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  Line your rectangular baking pan with parchment paper or foil, spray the liner with non-stick spray; and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt together.  Set aside.

In a large bowl stir together the sugar and melted butter. 

Stir in the eggs, one at a time, whisking well after each addition.  Add the marmalade and the vanilla, beat well into the batter.  Fold in the flour mixture until well combined.

Stir in 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips and all of the nuts.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan, evenly spreading it out. 

Bake for about 30 minutes – the centre should be set.   FYI you kitchen will start smelling of chocolate orange.  This is when you should attempt to sell your house :0)

Cool completely in the pan on a wire rack.   Once they have cooled down, you need to dress these babies up a little.

topping

ingredients:

1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 tsp vegetable oil

1/2 c.  dried cherries, chopped

zest of 2 oranges

In a small saucepan, over low heat, melt the chocolate chips and vegetable oil – it should get nice and smooth.

Cool slightly.  Then grab a whisk and dip the end in the melted chocolate.  Drizzle the chocolate over the cooled brownies.  Top the melted chocolate with the dried cherries and the orange zest.

These make for a truly festive treat.  Perfect to chase those winter blues away … or to celebrate a birthday.

Joyeuse anniversaire Céline.  Et merci bien pour la marmelade.

4 thoughts on “marmalade-walnut brownies

  1. Chère Lynne,
    Quelle belle surprise de te voir cuisiner avec ma marmelade et de voir mon petit cadeau oser faire le beau ainsi sur ton super blog!Un immense merci pour tes bons voeux et ton infinie gentillesse d’avoir pensé à moi. Tes photos sont très réussies et inspirantes, je pourrais bien essayer ta recette tout à fait royale par un jour de grande poudrerie cet hiver pour embaumer la maison. J’en profite pour te souhaiter une merveilleuse année nouvelle.
    Bises, Céline

  2. last time I made your brownies I used a 9″ square and they did not cook, what do you mean by a rectangular pan? 9*13?
    I love marmelade and so does cedric, that would be a nice surprise birthday cake for him! I will write myself a note beside the recipe..thanks

    • salut michele … oui – 9×13 is a rectangular pan. i bet these would still bake in a large 9inch square pan … but the rectangular means that they are thinner. and i personally prefer thinner brownies… chewy, and fudgy… and oh so yummy. xx

Leave a Reply

