sprinkles are my new favourite thing

Remember when you were a kid and the best thing in the whole wide world was a cupcake, with heaps of frosting and then topped a million sprinkles? 

Well… Jenna remembers, and at her table in the Halifax Seaport Farmers’ Market, she reminds all of us exactly what we loved as kids, and want as adults … a tasty, moist cupcake, covered in creamy, smooth cream cheese frosting and then decorated with sprinkles.  Lots and lots of sprinkles.

I LOVE IT!

Maybe I should backtrack eh?

Remember Jenna from the Whalesbone?  Well … she gave up life in the city and moved back to the East Coast … Prospect Village to be exact … to a charming 200 year old home (her grandparents place): she set up a commercial kitchen, and started her own business – little red kitsch’n – prepared take-home food (savoury and sweet), with some catering on the side.

That’s where I come in.  As soon as she told me her plans I offered to join her down east; spending my summer vacation lending a hand in her kitchen: baking, learning tricks of the trade … and just having some fun.  A much needed break from my everyday.

It’s been awesome.

In less than a week, we’ve catered an event, gone to an arcade fire concert, spent two full days cooking and baking (taking breaks jumping in the ocean), spent the weekend at the market (well… I spent Saturday, Jenna did both days), been to a pig roast, I’ve been biking towards (but haven’t quite made it yetPeggy’s Cove … gone for hikes, gone rock jumping … so far, so good!

This is the view from Jenna’s backyard.  For reals.  Who wouldn’t love to vacation at a place like this?  And I get to bake?  Holy mother of pearl!!! DREAM vacation.

But let’s get back to last weekend.

I spent Friday baking cupcakes – hundreds of mini and regular sized cupcakes:  chocolate, vanilla, red velvet (the most overrated cupcake in my opinion), rhubarb (yum) and carrot.

I prepped a whole lot of rhubarb.  I am so impressed with my knife skills.

While I did that, Jenna finished off her pulled pork with pineapple bbq sauce (addictively delicious), made some mashed potato salad (I could have eaten an entire tub of that), traditional slaw, baked beans, fennel radish slaw (my idea), salted cod fish cakes, quinoa salad,  and a roasted red pepper tomato salad (I made that too actually).

Yeah.  That girl works her little butt off.

And look at how good her table looks?

Saturday was a super fun day – we pumped out the cupcakes (Jenna pipes and decorates them as she displays them… we were both frantically piping and sprinkling at several points in the day) and sold a huge amount of them …

The best part of the entire experience … it’s when people buy one mini cupcake, eat it, and come back for another one.  That … that’s the best compliment a baker can get.

My recommendation for BEST IN SHOW would have been the rhubarb cupcake with strawberry cream cheese frosting.

Amazing?

Yes.

Although … my twist would have been to fill it with lemon curd first.  But … that’s just me.  We can see I still enjoyed eating it.

I can’t wait for this week’s baking extravaganza.  Jenna and I spend most of out time discussing what we’re going to make.

Just you wait.  You’ll all wish you were at the Halifax Seaport Market on Saturday and Sunday tasting our baked goods too!

5 thoughts on “sprinkles are my new favourite thing

  1. So glad you are having a blast! Everything looks delicious and Jenna certainly is doing a terrific job. Very proud of both you ladies. xxoo

  2. Hooray for Jenna! Hooray for you! Great shout out to my market pal:) ( I met you at the start of the day, the lady with the prematurely grey hair or at least that’s what I like to tell myself)

  3. lynne – you make everything look like a dream come true 🙂 thanks for all the shout-outs (a million times over) – let the lime extravaganza begin – yahoo!!!

  4. this menu looks fantastic, I would pick any of them but would start with the mac cheese lobster!
    glad your back in the joy of baking, Bravo!

  5. Happy to hear that your bike made it out there safe and sound, and that you are having a great time! Everything looks so yummy too, but we miss you!

Leave a Reply

