obesessed with these brownies

This brownies are the bomb.

Seriously.

And it all started because of this picture. Who wouldn’t see this picture and not be tempted to bake these brownies as well?  I mean … brownie and raw cookie dough.  A-MAZ-ING.  (for realz).

I was checking my email and clicked open an email from the brown eyed baker … saw these beauties and just knew that I had to make them.  IMMEDIATELY. 

I decided that I would follow the brownie recipe that Michelle (the brown eyed baker) used, but wanted to use a different cookie dough recipe.I went back to my roots … and pulled out an old stand-by … Jenna’s chocolate-chip raisin cinnamon cookie dough  – the recipe made famous as the raw cookie dough in the Whalesbone’s sundae bar (I also blogged about it last summer).  The result … well I learned a couple of things …

1.  1 regular batch of raw cookie dough is too much.  I really only needed half the amount.

and

2.  Baking in 40+ weather is not the brightest of ideas.  Especially in a tiny kitchen that holds in all that heat.  sigh.

These brownies were popular (I brought them to a rooftop party @ Platonic Jeff’s place, and they were the most popular item … after my lemon gelato ice cream sandwiches) – but I couldn’t stop thinking about how I could make them better.

That’s exactly what I did a couple of weeks ago.

Jenna told me I could bake whatever I wanted for the Halifax Seaport Farmer’s Market.  I opted for these brownies.  Only … with a twist.

I needed a raw cookie recipe that didn’t include eggs (tante Michèle would approve).  Plus I wanted to make something that combined two of my favourite flavours:  chocolate & peanut butter.

And that is how my peanut butter cookie dough double chocolate brownies were born.  Brownie base, peanut butter cookie dough filling and a chocolate ganache topping.Rich Perfection.

People at the market thought so too.  These babies sold out.  Whoot Whoot!

Allow enough cooling time between baking the brownie and topping it with the raw cookie dough … and then allow for the ganache to set before cutting the finished product.  Simple and delicious.  Plus … everyone will be hooked.  Afterall … it pretty much pairs everyone’s favourite comfort food ;0)

peanut butter cookie dough double chocolate brownies

ingredients:

brownie:

4 ounces chocolate, chopped

1 c. butter, at room temperature

2 c. brown sugar

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1 c. flour

peanut butter cookie dough:

1. c. butter, room temperature

1 c. sugar

1 c. brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 c. peanut butter

2 c. flour

2 tsp baking soda

chocolate ganache:

1. c. heavy cream

12 ounces chocolate, coarsely chopped

To make the brownie base preheat your oven to 325 F and line a rectangular pan with parchment paper, spray with non-stick spray and set aside.  You want the parchment paper to hang over the sides – this will help you pull your brownie out whole in order to cut it properly.

In a double boiler, melt your chocolate until it is smooth and glossy.  Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.

In the bowl of your stand mixer, beat together (use your paddle attachment) the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy – about 5 minutes, scraping the sides of the bowl as needed.  Beat in the eggs, one at a time, and the vanilla.  Increase the speed to really incorporate everything.  Add the melted chocolate.  Lower the speed of the mixer and slowly add the flour: don’t over-mix, you just want everything to be combined.Spread the batter evenly over the base of your pan.  Bake for about 35 minutes – this brownie recipe really rises in the oven … fear not!  It will deflate once it cools down.

Let cool completely in the pan on a wire rack.Then it’s time to make your cookie dough! (obviously you can do as I did the first time round, and use whichever dough recipe you prefer … just remember, you likely only need to use half a recipe).

In the bowl of your stand-mixer thoroughly cream together the butter, sugar, and vanilla until smooth (about 5 minutes).  Stir in the peanut butter, and then add the dry ingredients.  Once combined … that’s it! 

Grab some of the batter and spread it evenly over your cooled brownie base (don’t worry if you don’t use all the cookie dough – it freezes really well).  Use an off-set spatula to get it even and smooth.

Set aside and make your ganache.

Place your chocolate in a medium, heat proof bowl.  In a small bowl over medium heat, bring your cream up to a simmer (well… honestly, I usually let it boil – but just a little).  Remove it from heat and pour it over the chocolate; allowing it to sit for a few minutes.  Then grab a spatula and slowly mix together – stirring until the chocolate has melted and the ganache looks creamy. 

Pour over the cookie dough brownie and allow to set in the fridge (I’d say at least an hour).

Remove the brownie from the pan, trim the edges off and cut into even pieces.

At this point I’m going to guess you ate some of that trim … I sure did (so did Jenna).  I heart this brownie.  Seriously intense … rich chocolate and salty peanut butter.  Heck ya.  A-MAZ-ING.

6 thoughts on “obesessed with these brownies

  1. Thanks for mentionning my name, I had a good laugh because I dont’s like raw cookie dough but because of this recipe with no raw eggs, I will!!
    By the way I made those lemon cupcakes stuffed with lemond curd for Val’s Bridal shower and they were superbs, worthy of any bakery in my book and yours, thanks!

    • I specially thought of you when picking my recipe … PLUS it was a smart choice since we sold them in the market and they weren’t in a fridge for most of the day :0)
      I’m so glad that those cupcakes turned out. I think they are pretty special … congrats on the new house!

Leave a Reply

