apple cinnamon tea cake

 I have a thing for raw dough.

It’s a weakness I’ve had since … well as long as I can remember …

It was such a problem this year that I actually included no eating raw dough as one of the things I gave up for lent … and it was probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever given up (second to cheese – which was just a stupid sacrifice).

Anyway.  You might wonder what that has to do with this cake?

Well you see … this cake is all kinds of wonderful.

Not only does it look pretty darn impressive.  But it’s also lovely.  It’s the kind of cake that you just keep slicing away at … bit by bit… slice by slice until nothing is left :0) (that’s the kind of cake I like to have in my kitchen).

Not only is it good as dessert … it is especially good first thing in the morning.  Who doesn’t love cinnamon sugar and apples in the morning???

But the extra special part for me?

It’s that little bit of slightly undercooked batter … just around the apple.  It’s not raw … but it’s just a little less cooked then the rest of the cake (and don’t worry … the cake is otherwise fully baked).

I was super pleased with the final result.  I mean … I was actually able to recreate exactly what the recipe looked like in the book (modern classics 2) …

I didn’t twist anything up when I made this last weekend.  But I have ideas for the next time I make it (likely this weekend) … I’ll turn the  tea cake into muffins … selecting smaller apples so that they fit a cupcake pan mold.  And I will most likely add more spices to the cake batter … I’d like the batter to have just a little more punch of flavour: more cinnamon, plus nutmeg, cloves, mace and allspice … oh sigh.

Oh!  and I’m pretty sure I’ll be adding some bacon fat to the apples, along with the cinnamon sugar … oh that would be really good.

However … even without a single twist … this recipe is good.  It’s a solid cake  that will bring a smile to your face and make your tummy very happy.

apple and cinnamon tea cake

ingredients:

cake base

3/4 c. butter, room temperature

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (I’d increase this to 1 tbsp)

1 tsp vanilla

2/3 c. sugar

3 eggs

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/3 c. buttermilk

topping

4 apples, cored, peeled and halved

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 c. apricot jam, warmed

Preheat your oven to 325 F.  Generously spray your 9-inch springform pan with non-stick spray (or butter the base and sides).  Set aside.

Cream together the butter, cinnamon, and sugar together in your stand-mixer – you want it to be light and fluffy – so mix about 3 to 4 minutes.  Scrape down the sides as needed.  You’ll notice that it will get quite pale as it becomes fluffier.

Add the vanilla and eggs, one at a time, beating well.

Sift the flour and baking powder over the mixture, add the buttermilk and stir until just combined.

Spoon the batter into the pan.  Set it aside.

Now make your topping.  Cut a row of deep slits in each apple half (but don’t cut through the apple halves… they still has to stay in one piece).

Arrange each half over the top of the cake batter … it looks pretty awesome eh?Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar over the apples.

Bake in the middle of your oven for 50 minutes.  Remove the cake from the oven and brush the warmed apricot jam generously over the top.

Return the cake to the oven and bake for a further 10 minutes (mine took about 75 minutes rather than 60 minutes to bake … but I used a slightly smaller cake pan, so it was a thicker cake … )

Allow the cake to cool on a wire rack, removing the sides of the pan after about 10 minutes.  If you’re serving this as a dessert, dress it up with a little heavy cream .. or serve it with some vanilla ice cream and a good drizzle of caramel sauce.  Or leave it as is.  It’s pretty awesome either way.

4 thoughts on “apple cinnamon tea cake

  1. Yum! I have one of these in the oven right now. I wasn’t sure of the amount of cinnamon/sugar to sprinkle (recipe seems a bit wonky here) so I probably over did it 🙂 But then, how do you over-do cinnamon sugar?

    This is extremely delicious raw batter. I kinda don’t believe you could resist eating some. Not that I know you…but I know this batter! Can’t wait for it to be fini. I am baking in a convection oven an since I’m not sure if you were or not I’m hoping my times work out ok.

Leave a Reply

