must.love.frosting

There’s a reason I decided to call this post must.love.frosting.

And that reason is must. love. food.

You see … I’m the host of a new tv show on Rogers TV … and it’s called must.love.food.

I think I’m still a little gobsmacked that this is really happening.

You might wonder … “why in the world is Lynne talking about frosting???”

I got to hang with my friends Derick and Lois on Daytime Ottawa today, and while we debuted a clip for must.love.food. we also made some frosting.

But not just any frosting.

We made oreo frosting.

Holy mother of pearl.

I love it so much I’ve made it 5 times in the last 10 days … it all started with a visit to always with butter.  There was a recipe for  oreo frosting that … well it made me stop in my tracks.

First off … it’s oreo frosting.

Nothing wrong with that.

Second of all … it’s super simple.

All you need is a food processor, some oreos, butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, salt and cream.

And lastly … IT’S OREO FROSTING!!!!!!!!

(check out the segment here)

As I said on Daytime – this frosting is probably one of the easiest things to make … EVER.  Plus it packs a HUGE punch … which means with very little effort you will impress just about anyone who tries it.

It even smells good.

A million sighs of happiness.

oreo frosting

ingredients:

1/2 package (2 sleeves – about 25 cookies), oreo cookies

1 c. butter, at room temperature

1 tbsp vanilla

couple pinches of salt (to taste)

5 – 6 tbsp cream

4 c. powdered sugar

Grab your food processor and dump the oreo cookies into the bowl.  Pulse until you get a fine crumb.

Baker’s note: It’s important to pulse the cookies first … otherwise they won’t get quite fine enough … and you’ll end up with some larger pieces … which make trying to pipe a cupcake pretty frustrating.

Ok … so the cookies are all crumbly … now toss in the butter (in cubes) and the splash of vanilla.  Add a pinch of salt and then half the powdered sugar.

Turn on the food processor … and let it go.

Add a little of the heavy cream … you’ll see that the batter starts to come together.  Turn it off and add the rest of the powdered sugar.

Turn the food processor back on.  Keep mixing it and adding a little bit of cream (as needed to get the texture you want).

I found that the frosting was a little warm once it was finished … so I put the bowl in the fridge for a few minutes and let it cool a little.  Then I filled my piping back … and went wild.

Oh … and if you’ve noticed that the cupcakes in the picture above are not the same ones as I made on Daytime … it’s true.  They aren’t.  I’m saving that recipe for the must.love.cupcakes episode :0)

10 thoughts on “must.love.frosting

  1. Lynne I am so excited about your new adventure. How wonderful. This adventure is right up your alley. I am thrilled for you. Also excited you are featuring my amazing niece Chloe and her amazing husband Joe. Now how to I get to see all the episodes in Vancouver!!!!

  2. Lynne – congrats on the new gig! Hopefully episodes will be available online (no cable here). You must be so excited! All the best.

  3. YAY!!! This is the best news!!! I absolutely cannot wait. This show sounds like it will be the live version of your blog which is delightful, so it’s a winner already.

    ps. I read this post the first time last night and then dreamt of Oreo Frosting… true story. Thank you for that!! It was delicious.

  4. Pingback: For the Love of Food « heartful mouthful

Leave a Reply

