lemons + blueberries + sprinkles = birthday cake love

I’ve been meaning to blog about this recipe since April.

It’s true.

I fell in love with this recipe … even before I tried it.  Because I knew it was going to be insanely delicious.

I wasn’t wrong.  It’s a great recipe … that never lets me down.

And I should know … I’ve made it a bunch of times … I’ve made it as a cake … and as cupcakes. I’ve made it for friends, for family, for a baby shower, for a wedding (actually 2 weddings)… and for my birthday.

This was my birthday cake.

20120531-084001.jpg

It made me ridiculiously happy.

How could it not?  It was chalk full of lemons and blueberries … and then topped with sprinkles.  And just when I thought I had enough sprinkles … I added more.  Since there’s no such thing as too many sprinkles … right Jenna???

20120531-084048.jpg

I could go on and on about how easy this cake is to make … because it is … but I seem to say that all the time. 

How about you make it and tell me how easy it is!?!

I like that idea! 

I do have a little recommendation … don’t forget to whisk (beat) the butter, sugar, and lemon zest for at least 5 minutes before adding the eggs.  Then beat the batter for another 5 minutes.  It smells delightful … and gets so light and fluffy …

lemon-blueberry cake:

ingredients:

2 c. plus 5 tbsp flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 c. blueberries (fresh or frozen … I used frozen)

1/2 c. sour cream

1/2 c. buttermilk

juice of 1 lemon

zest of 1 lemon

1 c. butter, at room temperature

1 1/2 c. white sugar

4 eggs

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  Spray 3 x 9-inch round baking pans with non-stick spray and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In a large measuring cup, combine the sour cream, buttermilk and lemon juice together.  Set aside.

Grabbing your stand-mixer, beat together the butter, sugar and lemon zest for about 5 minutes.  As I said before, it will get light and fluffy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition, until they are fully combined, another 5 minutes.  This should be done at medium-high speed.

Turn the mixer to low, and add the flour mixture, alternating with the milk mixture, in 5 additions (start and end with flour).  Once the flour has been completely incorporated, take 1/3 of the batter and pour it into one of the cake pans. 

Fold the blueberries into the remaining batter, and then divide it equally among the other two cake pans.

20120531-084147.jpg

Bake for about 25 minutes – the top of the cake should bounce back if you press your fingertips against it, or a tooth-pick will come out clean if inserted in the middle.

Allow to cool in the pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes, and then invert the cakes and allow to cool completely on the racks.

Once the cakes have completely cooled, it’s time to pull out your yellow food colouring, piping bag … and SPRINKLES. 

I made a basic lemon buttercream: lots of butter, some powdered sugar, the juice of a lemon, a pinch of salt … and some vanilla.  The vanilla kinda mellows the frosting out a little.  It’s a nice addition (same with the salt). 

I’d love to give you an exact recipe … but I don’t follow one for buttercream … I just keep playing with it until it tastes the way I like.  You should do the same :0)  And remember … if it feels like it isn’t thick enough, add more butter: the butter will thicken it up nicely. 

I wasn’t sure what I wanted the cake to look like, so after I added my crumb layer of frosting, I put some buttercream into my piping bag and pulled out different tips and tried them out.

I was super happy with the final product.  The cake made me smile, it smelled ridiculiously delicious, tasted great … and had so many sprinkles. 

Oh yeah … and it weighed at least 10 lbs.  If not more. 

That’s what I call a really good birthday cake!

 20120531-084245.jpg

20120531-084320.jpg

6 thoughts on “lemons + blueberries + sprinkles = birthday cake love

  1. Pingback: Project Birthday Cake: Lemon-Blueberry Cake with Love :) « lovefoodlongtime

Leave a Reply

