rhubarb raspberry cream tarts

There is so much that I want to blog about.

In the past few weeks I’ve made my first batch of gelato (huge success), batches of those smores bars (now I add the flaked coconut to the graham cracker base … a very tasty “twist” to the recipe), and I’ve been making these …

These are the best little tarts I ever did try.

Rhubarb.

Raspberries.

Cream filling.

DEE-LIGHT-FUL.

Oh my gosh … I wish I was nibbling on one as I write this …

It’s a tart happy little treat … full of promise of the summer to come.

It’s everything I love in baked goods.

Plus … it’s super pretty (double bonus).

I made a batch of my favourite pastry dough – and was able to get 18 tarts out of it.  The tarts were made using my cupcake / muffin pans as a mold.  I thought it was a good idea, since you need a “deep-dish” like mold – after all, you not only fill them with berries and rhubarb; but you also top them with a cream / custard filling.

The original recipe made a 9-inch pie … but who wants one 9-inch pie … when you can get eighteen mini tarts!

rhubarb – raspberry cream tarts

ingredients:

basic pastry dough (although for this tart, I omit the sugar in the recipe)

1 1/2 c. chopped rhubarb (about 4 stalks)

1 c. raspberries

1 c. sugar

2 tbsp flour

3/4 c. heavy cream

2 eggs

*bakers note – I halved the recipe each time I made it (the better to have fresh tarts for many occasions) – so the pictures below show the instructions and ingredients halved.  If you want to make a full batch at a time – follow the ingredient list above.  Sorry for any confusion.

Making the cream filling is super simple … and done in 3 easy steps!

Then you fill each tart with the berries and cream … and bake.

Pretty simple and easy eh?

Go on … make this!  And if you want … since it’s such a classic combination … go and grab some of those newly picked strawberries and turn these into rhubarb-strawberry tarts.

Sighs of happiness.

7 thoughts on “rhubarb raspberry cream tarts

  1. This may be Father’s Day dessert this year! As always – thank you for another yummy thing to try! Now I just have to search your blog for your pastry dough recipe! 🙂

  2. There’s rhubarb to be picked up in my freezer. When would you like to pick it up?maybe I could try your recipe?

Leave a Reply

