carob chip – almond butter – quinoa cookies

20120921-140514.jpg

You might be wondering … what the heck is going on?!

Am I on the right blog????

A recipe that doesn’t include butter. or sugar. or flour. or chocolate chips.

Instead these cookies are chock full of quinoa. rolled oats. almond butter. carob chips. maple syrup.

20120921-073311.jpg

Oh my goodness … what happened to Lynne?????

Well my friends … I decided to get out of my baking comfort-zone. I saw this recipe on my facebook feed and figured … what do I have to lose?

It turns out I gained a brand new favourite healthy cookie recipe.

Mother of pearl. Who would have thunk it!

I’ve already made this recipe twice. Yep. I liked it enough the first time to make it again … only this time I included a few *twists* to the original recipe. Obviously.

I’m going to start off with the major selling feature for me … these are actually the best mid-afternoon snack. I’m not saying these should be your *treat* for the day … HOWEVER … if you find yourself reaching for something cookie-like at around 2 pm to get you through the rest of your work day … look no further.

These cookies have become my afternoon life savers.

And they only require 5 ingredients … actually more like 7 … I added some additional spices to the original recipe.

Have I sold you on the idea of a healthy cookie yet?

20120921-073456.jpg

20120921-073511.jpg

20120921-073613.jpg

20120921-073531.jpg

Tip number 1 … when cooking your quinoa … add a vanilla pod and cinnamon stick to the water and quinoa. Any bit of extra flavour helps … especially when you’re baking healthy.

Tip number 2 … flatten these out a little pre-baking. Otherwise the middles get a tad dry. No butter = no added moisture.

Tip number 3 … the carob chips tend to spread and burn faster than I find chocolate chips would. Just keep an eye on the cookies while they bake. You might be able to take them out of the oven closer to 17 minutes rather than the recommended 20 minutes.

Tip number 4 … these cookies could easily be turned into bars. Simply pat down the dough into a square pan and bake for about 22 to 25 minutes.

Now are you ready to give these a try????

5 thoughts on “carob chip – almond butter – quinoa cookies

  1. Pingback: cranberry mini cheesecakes | the twisted chef

Leave a Reply

