baked sunday mornings: double chocolate loaf

bakers note: this recipe is part of the baked sunday mornings group – which means that we (participating bloggers) don’t include the recipe.  I have included the group homepage in a link below – so if you’re tempted – click on it and you’ll be able to make this loaf at home too ;0)

Oh my.  This loaf is YUM.

How can you go wrong when you’re asked to combine chocolate with peanut butter and cream cheese?  You really can’t.  Go wrong that is.

This loaf proves that (in case you were doubting me).

The spread – well it’s more of a frosting – is creamy and a little tangy thanks to the cream cheese.  My only complaint would be that it’s a little too sweet … I think I would omit the added sugar next time … but really – it’s still delicious.

I decided to make this recipe last night – I was meeting up with some friends and had promised to bring along some sort of baked good – kill two birds with one stone: bake my assigned recipe and provide a movie treat for friends.  Perfect!

Since I was short on time, I decided to turn the one 9-by-5-inch loaf into 8 mini loaves.  They wouldn’t require as much baking time, ensuring that I could bake them, cool them slightly, and frost them prior to heading out.

Only … I over baked them.

Note to self – and to anyone interested – bake the mini loaves for 24 minutes.  Not 26 minutes.

Sigh.

The result was still delicious.  The loaves were incredibly moist and crumbly in the centre … just a little over-baked on the base and sides.  Nothing a good smear of peanut butter cream cheese spread doesn’t fix :0)

Oh yes … and since I always end up trying the raw batter – I can attest that this batter is awesome.  It’s nice and thick and super chocolaty rich.  It’s actually pretty divine.

And so my friends … here is my 5th blog entry for baked sunday mornings.  It’s kinda the perfect blog entry since you should do the following after reading it:

– click on the link that leads you to the recipe.

– ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients.

– whip up a loaf (or double it as recommended in the book itself).

– make this next week a very good week by starting every day with a thick slice of the loaf topped with the peanut butter cream cheese spread.

– starting each day in such a manner will ensure the following … you will have a wonderful week.  Or at the very least you’ll look forward to breakfast.

If you still aren’t sure … just scroll down and see how (1) easy this loaf is to make, and (2) how delicious it looks.

Can’t you just picture yourself enjoying this with a nice cup of coffee tomorrow morning?  I bet you can … so do it.  Go out and bake this (I promise, this is a ridiculously simple recipe).

And for the record … I ate that entire mini loaf and loved every single bite (even the over-baked edges).

4 thoughts on “baked sunday mornings: double chocolate loaf

Leave a comment