pumpkin loaf (5 ways)

Seriously.  This is THE BEST LOAF in the history of all loaves.  I lie not.  Heck… Between October 14th and October 24th I baked it 5 times.  5 times! And you get 2 good-sized loaves out of each recipe.

I was flipping through the recipe book Baked: New Frontiers in Baking by Matt Lewis and Renato Polafito when I spotted this gem of a recipe.  It looked good… and what better way to know for certain than to try it right?

OMG I am so happy I decided to bake it.  It is OUTSTANDING!

Bye-bye banana loaf.

Sayōnara zucchini bread.

Hello pumpkin loaf.  Oh how I heart you… and so does everyone else who tastes you.

You might wonder… how can I still love this recipe after making it so often (and yes, I have tried every single loaf that has come out of my oven)?  Easy.  I switch it up a little.  The basis of the loaf is always the same – but then I add to it: nuts, dried fruit, types of chocolate chips, other fruit.  It’s ridiculous how versitile this recipe is – and every single time it’s a winner.  Every. Single. Time.

Let me count the ways I love this recipe:

1.  No stand mixer required.  Just a whisk, a couple of bowls and a rubber spatula.

2.  It smells AMAZING – from the moment you start on the batter until you take it out of the oven – you will be in heaven.

3.  It makes 2 loaves at once.  You can share the love among friends and family… and still keep one all to yourself.

4.  It tastes great with bre cheese.  Seriously … ask Julie.

5.  It’s just delish.  ‘Nuf said.

(baked) pumpkin chocolate chip loaf (original version – with my little “twists”)

ingredients:

3 1/4 c. flour, sifted

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg

1/2 tsp group allspice (I used ground cloves)

1/2 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp salt

1 3/4 c. pumpkin purée (one 15 oz. can)

1 c. vegetable oil

3 c. sugar (I used 1 c. white & 2 c. brown sugars)

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 c. water, room temperature

1 1/2 c. chocolate chips (I used half white & half semisweet chocolate chips)

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  Spray two 9 inch loaf pans with non-stick spray.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cinnamon nutmeg, allspice (cloves), ginger, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In another, larger bowl, whisk together the pumpkin purée and the oil until combined.  Add the sugar(s) and whisk again. 

It’ll thicken nicely – now add in the eggs, one at a time, whisking after each addition, and the vanilla.  Add the water and whisk until combined.  Grab your rubber spatula and stir in the chocolate chips.

Gently fold in the dry ingredients – try not to overmix.

Divide the batter between the two loaf pans.  Gently tap the pans against the counter – it’ll remove any air bubbles and level out the top of each loaf.

Bake at the centre of the oven – about 1 hour 20 minutes (give or take) – a toothstick or tip of knife should come out clean when inserted in the centre.

Transfer the pans to a wire rack, cool for about 15 minutes; then invert the loaves and cool completely.  And then slice into it. 

As you can tell from my enthusiasim – there are many more ways to make this loaf. 

Here are my 4 alternatives:

pumpkin chocolate chip pecan mini loaves

*add 3/4 c. chopped pecans to the batter at the same time as the chocolate chips.  Otherwise – everything remains the same.

apple spice pumpkin chocolate chip loaf

*add a large apple (peeled, cored, diced, sautéed) to the batter as the same time as the chocolate chips.

*next time I will grate the apple into the batter … but it still tasted good in chunks.

pumpkin date walnut loaf

* replace the cloves with pumpkin spice, replace the chocolate chips with chopped dates and toss in 3/4 c. walnuts to the batter.

pumpkin peanut butter chocolate chip loaf

*decrease the vegetable oil to 1/2 c. and add 1 c. natural peanut butter.  Add the peanut butter at the same time as the pumpkin purée.

*my mother’s favourite version – she loved how much it tasted of peanut butter

24 thoughts on “pumpkin loaf (5 ways)

  1. Délicieuse, cette recette, Lynne! J’ai fait la version aux dattes moins les noix, moitié format pain, moitié format petits gâteaux, et vraiment, c’est un succès! J’ai hâte d’essayer les autres versions!

    Merci pour la belle découverte!

  2. Okay you may just be my new best friend!!!
    Just made 2 loaves with almond and cranberries for Canadian Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow. Of course I had to try the end piece to make sure it was okay.
    Now if I can just keep my hands off it until after dinner tomorrow…….

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Round one « Cookie Cutters

  4. Just made this tonight, first timer, went with the chocolate chip one but had to make the mini loafs and muffins. Through some cream cheese icing on the muffins for good measure. SO TASTY. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. OMG! My house smells fantastic!!
    Last week, I roasted my two big pumpkins and currently have 8-4 cup packages of pumpkin in my freezer. Today I used up the container that I was saving just to try this recipe. It is a WINNAH!!
    Because my purée was so fresh, I didn’t add any water, just more pumpkin and I only used 2 cups of sugar. I also doubled the recipe so I could use all the pumpkin on hand. It made two nice sized loaves and 24 large muffins.
    Thank you for sharing!!!

  6. Yes! This is the best loaf I’ve ever tried. I made one loaf (half the recipe) using rum-soaked raisins, as suggested by morrex, instead of chocolate chips, and 3/4 cup of sugar (coconut sugar). It was sweet enough, and so moist! I’ve already got my pumpkin purée ready for the next one…maybe I’ll share it this time instead of eating it all myself 🙂 Thank you!

  7. Love it! I substituted 1 cup frozen apple thawed/puree for the oil and a portion of the white flour I subbed with wheat (3/4 C whole wheat flour). Also did half white and brown sugar. Did one loaf and 28 mini muffins (I like to freeze some for quick snacks for my toddler). Turned out wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

  8. I wish I had found this one before I made the one I did (which is currently in the oven!) My batter was quite dry, and I’m doubtful about the outcome. THIS will be my next attempt, right after supper!

  9. Pingback: mini pumpkin donuts | the twisted chef

  10. No lie, this loaf it’s soooooo good!! I made it with gluten free flour and it turned out spectacularly! I had a slice last night and I am still full!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!! 🙂

  11. I came accross this recipe this morning while doing my week-end baking. I, like you, love to experiment with my baking and create new and exciting food to eat and share with others. I did this with your recipe as well. I changed the oil to 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c applesauce. I also deleted the vanilla and water and added 1/3 c Kaluah and 1/3 c Jack Daniel’s. Wow! This added such a nice depth to the pumpkin flavour and set off the chocolate chips very well. I also made mine into 36 mini muffins, 4 mini loaves and 1 8×4 loaf. This recipe makes a ton! Not a bad thing. I’m fairly new to using applesauce in place of oil and always worry if I’m going to sacrifice taste or moistness. These were so moist and yummy I no longer have that fear. Thank you very much for the recipe and inspiration.

  12. My daughter made these and added the following. They were the best!
    Cream cheese filling for 24 muffins:
    8oz softened cream cheese
    1/2 c. powedered sugar
    2 eggs.
    Wrap in saran and freeze, cut in chunks just before baking and shove a chunk in each muffin.
    Sprinkle tops with pumpkin seeds and cinnamon sugar

  13. I am making these as we speak. I used fresh pumpkin puree that had been frozen so it was wetter than the canned stuff so I added a tad more flour. I also added 1/2 tsp cardamom and 3/4 C. rum soaked raisins (rum included) and 1 sautéed Honey Crisp apple. I made one regular size loaf and 8 mini loaves. The mini loaves just came out of the oven. So far, so good. They all look and smell wonderful. My son will be here for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow. He is my biggest (but kindest) critic. He is a trained and experienced Chef and I am always trying to find new twists for old staples to impress him. He keeps telling me to experiment but every time I think I have a new thought, I go to Google and sure enough, someone has beaten me to the punch. I had the thought of adding apples to my pumpkin loaf recipe and guess what? That’s what brought me to your blog. Cardamon was a spice that I never had in my spine rack but learned its value just recently. The proof will be in the tasting.

  14. Pingback: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf | Cindy Roy

Leave a Reply

